By continuing to use this site, you agree to the storing of first- and third-party cookies on your device to enhance site navigation; analyze site, product, and service usage; and assist in our marketing and promotional efforts. Cookie Policy

 
Skip to Content

Manage Folders

Administrators can manage folder properties, as follows: While in Content > Pagesclick a folder's More Actions menu More Actions menu to see the folder management dropdowns.

A view of a list of folders in OU Campus. The options Edit, Publish, and File are visible. Under File, a dropdown menu shows the following options: Dependency Scan, Dependency Revert, Rename, Move, Copy, Delete

The Edit menu contains options for editing the access settings and tag access settings for the folder. The Publish menu lets you publish the folder and any files inside it. The File menu contains the following options:

Dependency ScanLink to this section

Scan a folder to sync the files in the folder with the system database. Dependency scan syncs tags, access settings, and replaces links to files on the staging server with dependency tags (if dependency manager is active for the site).

To run a scan, click FileDependency Scan and in the "Confirm" box, click OK.

To prevent errors or discrepancies, ensure users are not editing files within a folder while you scan it.

Dependency RevertLink to this section

Revert all dependency tags in pages and files within the folder to URLs (type determined in site settings). To revert tags, click File Dependency Revert and in the "Confirm" box, click OK.

This is useful when preparing to copy a folder or when searching your site to replace URLs. To prevent errors or discrepancies, ensure users are not editing or moving pages within a folder while you revert it.

Dependency revert does not restore pages and files to previously saved or published states; see version revert.

RenameLink to this section

 Click File > Rename and type the new folder name into the field. Press Enter to commit your change or Esc to cancel.

File URLs in OU Campus are created from the file's location in the site structure so renaming a folder changes the published URL of every file within that folder.

MoveLink to this section

Click File > Move, navigate to your destination in the OU Campus folders, and click Move. You can also select folder checkboxes and click Move in the list header or drag your folder. Drag a folder from Pages, or from the file navigation sidebar, to a new location. In the "Move or Copy" box, click Move.

Dragging a folder in the file navigation sidebar to a list of folders in Pages.
Moving image_test folder from the file navigation sidebar to the _resources folder in Pages.

File URLs in OU Campus are created from the file's location in the site structure so moving a folder changes the published URL of every file within that folder.

CopyLink to this section

Click File > Copy, navigate to the copy destination in your OU Campus folders, and click CopyYou can also select folder checkboxes and click Copy in the list header or drag your folder. Drag a folder from Pages, or from the file navigation sidebar, to a new location. In the "Move or Copy" box, click Copy.

When copying a folder, you'll see additional "Folder link options" in the "Copy" box. Select the radio button "Update links to content within the copied folder" to create dependency tag links to the copied files in the navigation file contained in the new folder.

Links between navigation file in copied folder point to copied files.
The navigation file (_sidenav.inc) in the copied folder links to the copied files.

Select the radio button "Do not update links to content within the copied folder: Links will point back to original folder and files" to create dependency tag links back to the original files in the navigation file contained in the new folder.

Links between files in copied folder point to original folder and files
The navigation file (_sidenav.inc) in the copied folder links to the original files.

DeleteLink to this section

Deleting a folder permanently deletes the folder and all content inside it, with no option to restore files. Recycle files inside a folder before you delete the folder so you have the option to restore files later.

Deleting a folder from the staging server removes it from the production server.

Click File > Delete or select the folder checkbox and click Delete in the list header. In the "Permanently Delete" box, type "delete" in the confirm field and click Delete.

Managing Multiple FoldersLink to this section

You can affect multiple folders by selecting the folder checkboxes. In the list header, click to move, copy, delete, or publish those folders.

To move or copy multiple folders, select the folder checkboxes and drag them to a new location.

Click the "Select All" checkbox to select all visible files and move, copy, or publish the files simultaneously.