Skip to Content

Versions

OU Campus stores a version of a file every time it is published. You can also manually save a version any time you want. Compare page versions to see when changes were made, or revert a page to a previous version.

Access page versions by either:

  • In Content > Pages, hovering over a checked-out file and selecting Review > Versions.
  • When viewing a checked-out page, clicking Versions in the top toolbar.

The version of the page that is live on your website is highlighted green.

SaveLink to this section

A page or file must be checked out to you before you can save a version. To save a new version:

  1. In Content > Pages, hover over the page or file and select Review > Save Version,
    OR
    When viewing a page, click "Save Version" in the top toolbar.
    A row of buttons. A button with a download symbol is circled in orange.
  2. In the Save Version box, enter a version description. Though optional, version descriptions are recommended to log changes or differentiate between versions. This can come in handy should you need to revert the page in the future. Click "current state" to see a preview of the page or file.
  3. Click "Save Version."

RevertLink to this section

Reverting a page to a previous version returns the page or file to how it was when that version was saved.

To revert to a previous version:

  1. View the versions of a checked-out page or file.
  2. Hover over the version you want. Click "View" to preview that version, or click "Revert."
  3. You're asked to confirm if you want to revert the page. You can also click on the revision number to preview the version you're going to revert to.
  4. Click "Revert."

You must publish your page for the changes to be visible on the live website.

CompareLink to this section

By comparing two versions of a page, you can see what's been changed between them. You can compare the current state of the page to what is on your live website, or to a previous version.

To compare versions:

  1. View the versions of a checked-out page or file.
  2. To compare the page to the live website version, either click "Compare to Live" in the top right, or hover over the green live version and select Compare > Page.
    • If using the blue "Compare to Live," you can change what publish target you are comparing.
    • If using the Compare dropdown, you can also compare the page with includes hidden (so you are viewing only the content specific to the page), or the source code of the page.
  3. To compare the page to a previous version, hover over that version and select Compare > Page. You can also compare the page with includes hidden (so you are viewing only the content specific to the page), or the source code of the page.
  4. The page is marked to indicate the different changes. Red strikethrough shows content that was removed, green underline shows content that was added, and blue squiggle underline shows formatting changes.
    • If you're comparing to a previous version, you can also use the options at the top to scroll through different past versions, hide includes, and toggle the page view or source code.

Last Published VersionLink to this section

Sometimes a page needs to be published because of a specific change, such as updating a link, but you don't want any other in-progress edits to be published. Using the last published version takes the version of the page that exists on your live website and updates it with that change only. Some actions, such as updating a link or publishing an asset, automatically use the last published version. In other instances, such as publishing a section, you have the option to use the last published version.