By continuing to use this site, you agree to the storing of first- and third-party cookies on your device to enhance site navigation; analyze site, product, and service usage; and assist in our marketing and promotional efforts. Cookie Policy

 
Skip to Content

Publish Pages

Because OU Campus is a decoupled system, you must publish pages, files, and other content for changes to appear on your live website.

By default, all users can publish content unless it is checked out to another user. Administrators can restrict this by requiring users to submit pages for approval or by disabling publish.

 

To publish a page or file, either:

  1. While viewing the file, click Publish.

or

  1. Navigate to Content > Pages
  2. Find your file.
  3. Click More Actions More Actions menu.
  4. Click Publish > Publish.

If you don't have permission to publish pages, you see the option to Submit.

Publish OptionsLink to this section

Clicking Publish opens the "Publish" box, containing the following tabs and options:

Final check reviews the rendered version of your page or file (i.e., what your page looks like on your live website) before publishing it. Final check reviews reusable content on the page and performs the same checks as page check.

  • File Type: Select which item in the dropdown to review. 
    • Some pages create more than one item when published, i.e., both a web page (HTML) and a PDF file. 
  • Run All Checks: Click to run all available checks (spelling, links, W3C valid, and accessibility).
  • Spelling: Select a language and click to check the spelling on the page.
  • Links: Click to check for broken links on the page.
  • W3C Valid: Click to check for valid HTML and XHTML code on the page.
  • Accessibility: Click to check that the page conforms to accessibility standards.
  • Publish Target: Select a location in the dropdown.
    • If your website has been set up with more than one publish target, you can publish a page or file to a different location than the live website.
  • Include Unpublished Dependencies: If your site has been set up with dependency manager, view and publish files linked to the current page that have not yet been published.
  • Version Description: Enter a description of changes for the version history.


Level 10 users can enforce final check at site settings, so that a page has to pass it before it can be published.

If publishing is disabled for a file, administrators can enable a one-time publish.

Schedule a page to publish instead of publishing it immediately.

Send a tweet or post to a linked Twitter or Facebook account when a page is published. Select the account and/or page to post to, write the tweet or post, and check the "Add URL" box to add a shortened version of the page URL to your post.

This tab doesn't appear if Twitter and Facebook accounts have not been linked to your OU Campus account.

Publish Multiple FilesLink to this section

You can publish multiple individual files and level 10 administrators can publish sections and folders, including files that are checked out or part of a workflow.

  1. Go to Content > Pages.
  2. Select the file checkboxes.
  3. In the list header, click Publish.

When publishing multiple files, the "Publish" box does not provide final check, scheduling, or social media options.

Apply the following publish options to the batch of selected files, as appropriate:

  • Include Checked-Out Files: Publish files that are checked out by any user.
    • The files stay checked out after publishing.
  • Include Files Scheduled for Publish: Publish files that are scheduled to be published.
    • The files stay scheduled to publish after publishing.
  • Include Files in Workflow: Publish files that are part of a workflow .
    • The files remain in the workflow after publishing.
  • Publish Changed Files Only: Publish files that have been modified since their last published version.
    • This includes checked-out files and newly-created files that have never been published.
  • Use Last Published Version: Don't publish files with changes in progress or unpublished pages.
    • This can be useful if a design change or some other modification requires a republish of the folder, but you don't want to update the content.
  • Exclude Binary Files: Don't publish binary files, such as images and PDFs.
  • Include Unpublished Dependencies: Publish linked files that have not yet been published.
  • Publish Target: Publish files to a different location than the live website. 
  • Version Description: Add a description to the version history of every published file in the batch.

Disable a PublishLink to this section

Administrators can prevent pages, binary files, folders, templates, and sites from publishing to production. 

Go to the access settings for your content, as follows: 

  1. Navigate to Content > Pages
  2. Find your file and click More Actions More Actions menu.
  3. Click Edit > Access.
  4. Select "No" for "Publish to Production."

All users will see a "Publishing Disabled" status for the content.

Users levels 0 through 8 will no longer see publish actions—page publish, site publish, multi-file publish, schedule publish, or expire. If the file is part of a workflow, you can Submit.

Administrators will continue to see publish actions, except scheduling, and can enable a one-time publish at final check. 

Remove a scheduled publish or expire before disabling publish actions.

Enable publish actions (select "Yes" for "Publish to Production") to schedule a publish or expire.

If your page has publishing disabled but subscribes to tags or assets, the page will republish with the updated tag or asset. The page will republish using the last published version. 

Stop a PublishLink to this section

There is no way to stop, or undo, a publish once it starts. If you publish content in error, there are two possible solutions:

  • Revert to the last published version of the file. This returns the file to it's previous state. Publish the reverted page to your live website.
  • Remove the page from the website by deleting it from the production server. Once a page is deleted from the production server, the only way to restore it is republishing it. Only users levels 9 and  10 can delete files from the production server.

Remove a scheduled publish before it happens.