Because OU Campus is a decoupled system, pages, files, and some other types of OU Campus content must be published for changes to appear on your live website.
By default, all users can publish content, but this can be restricted by administrators, requiring users to submit pages for approval instead.
To publish a page or other file, either:
- Click the green Publish button while viewing the file.
- Hover over the file in Pages and select "Publish."
Multiple files can be published simultaneously from Pages by checking the box next to their name and selecting "Publish" from the blue header bar. Publishing a folder publishes all files inside it. You can't publish files that are checked out to another user or part of a workflow.
If you don't have permission to publish pages, you see the option to Submit for Approval instead.
The "Publish" box appears whenever you initiate a publish for files. It contains the following tabs and options:
Final check reviews your page or other file before publishing it. It checks the rendered version of your page: i.e., what the page looks like on the live website. This includes any reusable content used on the page. The checks are the same as those used for page check.
- Output Selector: Some pages create more than one item when published, i.e. both a web page (html) and a PDF file. Use this dropdown to change which item is being reviewed by the checks.
- Run All: Click to run all available checks (Spelling, Links, W3C Valid, and Accessibility).
- Spell Check Language: Select a language for the spell check.
- Spelling: Checks the spelling of the page.
- Links: Checks for broken links on the page.
- W3C Valid: Checks for valid HTML and XHTML code on the page.
- Accessibility: Checks that the page conforms to accessibility standards.
- Publish Target: If your website has been set up with more than one publish target, you can publish a page or file to a different location than the live website. Use this dropdown to select which one.
- Include Unpublished Dependencies: If there are any pages or images linked to the current page that have not yet been published, check this box to publish them along with the current page. Dependency manager must be enabled for this to work.
- Version Description: Enter a description of the updates to the page to accompany the page version.
Level 10 users can enforce final check at site settings, so that a page has to pass it before it can be published.
You can schedule a page to publish instead of publishing it immediately.
You can send a tweet or post to Facebook to a linked Twitter or Facebook account when a page is published. Select the account and/or page to post to, write the tweet or post, and check the "Add URL" box to add a shortened version of the page URL to your post.
This tab doesn't appear if no Twitter and Facebook accounts have been linked to your OU Campus account.
If you are publishing multiple files, the "Publish" box does not provide Final Check, scheduling, or social media options. Instead, it has the following:
- Include Checked-Out Files: Any files in the folder that are checked out, whether to you or another user, are published. The files stay checked out afterward.
- Include Files Scheduled for Publish: Any files in the folder scheduled to be published are published with the others. The files stay scheduled to publish afterward.
- Include Files in Workflow: Any files in the folder that are part of a workflow are published. The files remain in the workflow afterward.
- Publish Changed Files Only: Only pages that have been modified since their last published version publish if this is checked. This includes checked-out files and newly-created files that have not yet been published.
- Use Last Published Version: Check this to use the last published version of all files within the folder when you publish it. Any changes in progress or unpublished pages aren't published. This can be useful for when a design change or some other modification requires a republish of the folder, but you don't want to update the content.
- Exclude Binary Files: Binary files such as images and PDFs aren't published if this is checked.
- Include Unpublished Dependencies: If any of the files being published link to other images or files that have not yet been published, those are published too. This only works if dependency manager is turned on.
- Publish Target: If your website has been set up with more than one publish target, you can publish the folder to a different location than the live website. Use this dropdown to select which one.
- Version Description: The description entered is added to the version history of every published file in the folder.
There is no way to undo a publish, or to stop a publish once it starts. However, if you published content that you don't want to be on your website yet, there are two possible solutions:
- Revert to the last published version of the file. This returns the file to how it looked before you published it. Then publish the page again to make the change live.
- If you want to remove the page from the website entirely, delete it from the production server. Once a page is deleted from the production server, the only way to restore it is republishing it. By default, only users levels 8 to 10 can delete files, but users levels 1 to 7 can be granted that ability.
A scheduled publish can be removed before it happens.