Skip to Content

Clone

Cloning creates a copy of one of your existing sites that can then be modified without affecting the original. This includes all designs and resources files. If you need to create a new site, it is often easier to clone an existing one and then change it as needed, rather than creating a brand-new site and building it from the ground up.

When using Clone, just the site record (the staging server information and all site settings) or both the site record and the site staging files can be cloned. If you are trying to duplicate an existing site with all its resources and templates, make sure you choose to clone staging files.

The following features are cloned with a site:

Feature Clone Site Record Clone Staging Files Notes
Staging Server Files No Yes Everything under Content > Pages.
Site Settings Yes Yes With the exception of those that need to be reconfigured for the new site.
Production Server Files No No  
OMNI-INF No No  
Binary Files No Yes, if binary management is enabled If the original site has binary management on and the clone doesn't, binary files are still copied to staging.
Dependency Tags No No The site files are cloned, the dependency tags for the site are reverted, and then the site is rescanned, producing new dependency tags.
Recycle Bin Location Yes Yes  
Recycle Bin Contents No No  
LDP Registration No No  
RSS Feeds No Yes  
RSS Feed Assignments No Yes  
RSS Feed XMLs No No  
RSS Groups No Yes  
RSS Items No Yes  
Snippets and Snippet Categories No Yes If the snippet isn't already available in all sites, then the newly-cloned snippet is added to the list of sites that can access the snippet. Snippets already available account-wide aren't cloned.
Reports No No  
Assets No No Assets don't need to be cloned because they're available site-wide unless otherwise restricted. Any pages subscribing to assets remain subscribed to the original asset.
Access Settings (Pages and Folders) No Yes  
Access Settings (all others) No No  
Components No No Components don't need to be cloned because they're available site-wide unless otherwise restricted. Any component instances on pages are cloned with those pages and subscribe to the original component. 
Directory Variables No Yes  
Find and Replace "Last Replace" Results No Yes  
File Status (Checked Out, Pending Approval, etc.) No No  
Versions No No  
Templates No Yes  
Template Groups No Yes  
Facebook Pages No No  
Twitter Accounts No No  
Default Tweet/Wall Post Yes Yes  

Account-wide features such as users, groups, toolbars, etc. don't need to be cloned, as they are available to all sites anyway. Gadgets with site-specific information won't include the old site's history when viewed on the new site.

How To

The length of time required to clone site files depends on the size of the site in terms of number of files and file sizes. A high number of files, particularly large media files, can take a considerable amount of time to clone.

Cloning a site with copying files should only be done when all users are logged out. To clone a site:

  1. Navigate to Setup > Sites.
  2. If you are cloning to a site that is a subfolder of the original site, then revert the original site, so that the cloned links point to the new site.
  3. Hover over the site you want to clone and select Actions > Clone.
  4. Enter a unique site name.
  5. Check "Include Staging Resources" to copy files from the site as well.
  6. Fill out the site settings as necessary. The FTP Root, FTP Home (optional), and HTTP Root must form a unique combination.
    • If FTP Root is different from the default of what the cloned site was using (i.e., public_html) and not using local templates, then the path for templates needs to match also. For example, if FTP Root was changed to /public_html/art then the path to the template folder would be /public_html/art/_resources/ou/templates.
  7. Click Create.

Once the site is cloned, some additional steps should be taken before going live.

  • Build the search index in the site settings.
  • Publish the site.
  • Initialize the DirectEdit button.
  • Review any site access settings.
  • Fix any internal hard-coded URLs pointing to the old domain name, if necessary. Find and replace can be used. Similarly, if the new site is a subfolder of the old one, then paths should be updated as necessary.

Dependency Manager

Whether or not dependency manager is enabled during the cloning process, for both the source site and the clone site, has differing effects on the links in the cloned site, should files be copied over. There are four possible scenarios:

 

Source Site
Dependency Manager On

Source Site
Dependency Manager Off
Clone Site
Dependency Manager On

All dependency tags point to clone.

Dependency tags may or may not point to the clone.
Clone Site
Dependency Manager Off
No dependency tags. Any dependency tags on the source site that existed before dependency manager was turned off are copied over and point to the source site.

Any dependency tags in the source site that point to locations other than the source continue to point to the same location in the clone.

If binary management is not turned on, and all links to binary files point to the production server, then those links on the clone site need to be updated via find and replace.