Skip to Content

Sites

When you navigate to Setup > Sites, you see a list of all sites in your OU Campus account. Hovering over each site brings up menus with different actions that can be taken for the site. For some site actions, it is helpful to consider the site one large folder, with behavior like that of other subfolders.

Create a new site by clicking the +New button, and then fill out the required site settings. This only creates a site (a.k.a. a division of content) within OU Campus; it doesn't configure a web domain, new server, or other pieces required for a site to be visible on the web. Once the site is created, files can be uploaded via the interface singularly or with a zip file that keeps the file structure intact. Another method to create a new site is to use site clone, which copies the site record with or without files from the cloned site, depending on your choice.

EditLink to this section

PublishLink to this section

  • Publish Site: Publishes all files on the site. The options are the same as those for publishing folders. Does not include assets, RSS items, or other content types not in the file structure.
  • Publish Sitemap.xml: Generates an XML file indexing the site. Pages and files are included as long as they have been published from staging to production (as opposed to being directly uploaded to production). Pages and folders can be excluded from the sitemap via access settings. Regenerating the sitemap overwrites the existing XML file.

ScanLink to this section

  • Dependency Scan: Runs a scan to synchronize the database with the files on the staging server. If dependency manager is enabled, the scan also identifies the valid paths the scanner can convert within the target site and replaces them with dependency tags, ignoring invalid paths. Running this scan for the first time should only be done during off-peak times, such as evenings or weekends, as it can take up to one or two hours for a large site. Subsequent scans are much quicker. With binary management enabled, the scan and assignment of dependency tags also includes images and other binary files.
  • Revert Site: Revert converts all dependency tags in pages and files to root-relative links or absolute links, depending on the site settings. It is useful when preparing to clone a site, or when doing a find and replace concerning URLs. This should only be done during off-peak times, such as evenings or weekends, as it can take up to one or two hours for a large site. We recommend not editing or moving pages during the process, to ensure the revert catches every file in your site.
    Revert does not restore pages and files to previously saved or published states; it is not a version revert.

ActionsLink to this section

  • Clone: Creates a clone of the site.
  • Save Version: Creates a backup of the entire site to the versioning system. A new version of each page is added to the version list of each page. The account name is notated as the user in the version list.
  • Initialize: Adds a DirectEdit button to all pages on the staging server. If using the last modified date for the DirectEdit button, doing this sets all pages on the staging server to have the current date. Using this does not affect the files on the production server unless the site is published.
  • Purge Staging Binaries: Removes binary files (images, PDFs, etc.) from the staging server. This function does NOT affect or delete any files on the production server. If binary management was enabled at one time and then disabled, Purge can be used to remove any binary files still extant on staging. This command is only available when binary management is disabled for a site.
  • Export as Zip File: Exports all files on the staging server as a .zip file to your computer. This includes the past versions of files, but not any access settings, directory variables, RSS feeds, tags, reusable content, or other items. It is advisable and can be useful to revert the site prior to export. After exporting, re-scan the site to have the dependency tags re-added.
    If previous exports have been run, those are listed, with a link to download them as well.
  • Delete: Deletes the site from the site list, the site record, and the database records. The site can be restored if the same site name is used (as all the files still reside on the staging server), but the database information, permissions, dependencies, etc., no longer exist. Files are not deleted from the production server or any publish targets. Any assets created in this site are deleted, even if they were available for use on other sites.