Users

Overview

Users and groups are account-wide settings; that is, the same user can access all sites within an account. Users and user groups can be created and modified by a level 10 administrator.

Users Menu

Setting up a user gives the individual the ability to access OU Campus and defines the user’s authority level, which provides inherent permission for specific functionality within the CMS. There are 11 user levels within OU Campus (0–10). The most commonly used user levels are 4 and 6 (general content contributors), and 8 (approvers, developers, etc.) . Level 9 and 10 users are considered administrators in OU Campus, with Level 10 administrators being the only users who can access to the Setup menu.

In addition to the inherent abilities provided with the authority level, additional permissions can be assigned. These permissions can range from the ability to add words to the site’s custom dictionary to the assignment of an approver. All users inherently have an ability to publish content unless otherwise revoked through the assignment of an approver, which is accomplished through the access settings in the interface or at a code level for site developers.

Users are added as members to groups, and groups, in turn, are assigned to specific areas or functions in order to limit the functionality to members of the group. Users, as individuals, can only be assigned to the approver settings.

Before group assignment can be designated, users must be added to the system. It is valuable to understand the various fields found in the user configuration prior to doing an initial import of users, since the fields found in the user settings can be included in the user import file in order to make the creation of initial users easier. User settings can be updated at any time.

An administrator can create new users and modify existing user settings from Setup > Users. A few settings can be user controlled from current user menu on the global navigation bar.

Users List View

The Users list view includes the following features and functionality:

  • Shows the number of users in the account
  • Filtering by username and name
  • Sorting the list by name, last login, level, and username
  • Creating a new user
  • Modifying a user's settings

Creating a New User

Level 10 administrators may create new users of any level and configure the settings available specific to that user level. To create a new user, click the + button in the upper, right-hand corner of the Setup > Users screen. The User Information, Restrictions, Preferences, and LDAP Configuration panels are available during new user creation as well as being available for editing after. The New User Options are only available during the initial creation.

Basic Steps

  1. Navigate to Setup > Users.
  2. Select the + sign.
  3. Fill out fields as necessary. Some, such as Authentication settings and user level, are required. If required fields have not been filled out, they will be highlighted in red and must be filled in order for the new user to be created.
    New User Screen

     

  4. Click Save.

More Details for Creating Users

The following panels are available when creating a new user:

Note that both the Restrictions and Preferences panels include settings specific to the selected user level. Users can view selected settings from Settings in the current user menu on the global navigation bar and change the User Information items (with the exception of the Username), and can enable and disable Page Check, if so configured for user enablement at the account level.

Modifying Existing Users

Administrators may edit an existing user’s settings with the exception of Username. From Setup > Users, user settings can be modified by selecting a user. Remember to click Save when done making changes.

Unlocking a User

An Level 10 administrator can reset a user if the user has become locked out of the account by attempting to log in with too many incorrect log in attempts. The number of failed attempts allowed is configured in Setup > Account. 

  1. Navigate to Setup > Users. The locked out user is shown with a red lock.
  2. Select and click Unlock. The Edit option will also be available.

Unlock User

It is also possible, if CAS, Shibboleth, and LDAP are not being used, to change the user’s password by editing the user record. Keep in mind that the new password needs to be communicated to the user.

A user can reset his or her own password with the Reset Password feature.

User Avatars

OU Campus supports the use of Gravatar (Globally Recognized Avatar) for users to associate a photo or avatar with their account. Gravatar is a third-party website where users create an account and upload an avatar. That avatar will appear automatically on any Gravatar-enabled site (including OU Campus), as the site is linked to the Gravatar account via the email address used on the site. In other words, the user's email address in OU Campus and for their Gravatar account must be the same.

For more information and to create a Gravatar, visit Gravatar's website.