Editing & Publishing Assets
Once a page has been subscribed to an asset, any changes in the asset updates the page and republishes it. The republishing of pages subscribed to assets can be throttled by an administrator with the configuration of the account setting for publish threshold.
Editing an Asset is very similar to editing a page.
- To edit an Asset, navigate to Content > Assets.
- Locate the Asset to be edited. Use the tags to filter for the desired Asset. Assets from all sites will appear, except for Managed Form Assets, which are site-specific.
- Click on its name.
- The Asset will be checked out and the user will be dropped into the editor.
- Make the changes and save as needed.
Important Note: Any changes to Assets will not affect the files on the Production Server until the Asset is published. However, changed Assets will render on the Staging Server. Publish can be immediate or scheduled to occur in the future.
When an Asset is published, the content of the Asset is saved to the database and is added to the versioning system. All pages containing the Asset will then be updated by using the latest published version of the page. The current version of the page will not be published to prevent premature changes to the Production Server. In addition, publishing Assets will not have an affect on pages that are checked out to other users or are in the workflow system.