Publishing a Page
File, directories, or sites can be published from the staging server to the production server or an alternative publish target, if configured. Once a page, directory or site is published is it available on the World Wide Web. Only level 10 administrators can publish directories and sites. This topic discusses publishing a page from a user's perspective.
Pages can be published by all user levels. However, it is possible to restrict publishing permissions by assigning an approver, and even overriding that restriction with a Publishers group. If, as a user, only Send to Approver is available, then the page must be sent to an approver as part of the publishing workflow.
Publishing a page is also a method to reuse content. For example, at the time of a page publish, an RSS feed can be updated. Facebook, Twitter, and blog content can also be published. Page publish can include publishing to multiple outputs and alternative publish targets.
Additionally, at the time of publish various automated reviews of the page to check spelling, accessibility, linking and standards validation can be configured by an administrator to automatically run.
Dependency Manager tracks when a page includes dependencies that have not yet been published. When publishing a page an error message indicates that the page includes unpublished content that might result in broken links or missing content. The unpublished content can include assets and unpublished pages. From the Publish Option section, select the Include unpublished dependencies checkbox to publish the unpublished content.
About Recycle, Delete, & Restore
Inherently, only administrators and Level 8 users can recycle and delete files, pages, directories, and assets. The delete permissions for Level 8 include only the files and directories to which they have access. Administrators can assign access rights for recycling and deleting files and pages to Level 1–7 users. By default the recycle bin function is configured for a site, and this allows pages on the staging server to be recycled rather than immediately and permanently deleted. When a page is recycled rather than deleted, it can later be restored if necessary. When a page is recycled on the staging server, the published derivatives are automatically deleted from production servers. Likewise, a file can also be solely deleted from the production server or other publish target by navigating to the Production tab or tab for the publish target, and deleting it. The recycle bin functionality does not extend to these servers. Once a file is deleted from the production server or publish target, it cannot be restored. It can be re-published from the main file on the staging server with any routine form of publishing, such as publish, site publish, directory publish, or scheduled publish. Directories cannot be recycled on staging nor on a production server. Directories that are deleted are immediately and permanently deleted. There is a multiple file recycle function. All or multiple files within a directory can be selected with the checkbox and the recycle bin function for multiple files can be selected. Then the directory can be deleted. Recycling files within a directory in this method enables the ability to individual restore the files from the directory. Restoring a file is performed from the recycle bin. From the recycle bin a file can be restored or permanently deleted, or the entire recycle bin can be emptied. For more information:
- A page can be published immediately after editing and saving the page by clicking
on the large Publish Now button in the Page Actions Toolbar. The button will only appear if the user has publishing
- A page can be published by navigating to Content > Pages and clicking on the Publish icon, which will only appear if the page is checked out to the user and the user
has publishing rights.
- Multiple pages can be published simultaneously by checking the boxes in front of the pages to be published. Simply check the boxes in front of the pages to be published, and click on the Publish option at the top of the Content > Pages window.
Clicking the Publish Now button displays a publish screen. Within this screen the following tools may be found:
- Final Check — This allows a final spell check, link check, and page validation to be completed before publishing the page. The available tools will vary based on the administrator settings. It is possible that these checks will run automatically. Simply click on the green arrow to run the final check if it does not run automatically.
- Publish Target — If available, select the desired publish target.
- Publish Options — If a page includes unpublished dependencies, there is the option to select a checkbox to publish unpublished dependencies at the time of publish. Dependency Manager reports at page publish time if there is dependent content that has not been published to the target server. This includes content that is linked or referred to by the page that is being published. By selecting to include the unpublished dependencies, those files are published as well. This action prevents broken links (for example) from existing on the current page being published. This is useful if a user has linked to a page that has not yet been published and starts to publish that page. This way the page that was linked to is also published. This checkbox is only shown if the Dependency Manager is being used on the site, dependency tags are used in the page being published, and one or more of those dependency tags refer to files that have not been published to the target yet.
- Version Description — This will allow a version description to be included in order to indicate what was updated and why the page is being published. This can be used when choosing previous versions in which to revert.
- Twitter — If this is activated, the system will allow a Tweet to be sent to a linked Twitter account upon publish.
- Facebook — If this is activated, the system will allow a wall post to be sent to a linked Facebook Page upon publish.
- Publish button
Users are only able to complete the publish if the user has publishing rights.
Example of Publish Screen
NOTE: If there is an assigned approver, an error message will appear indicating the pages that have to be published individually by the approver. To proceed, uncheck the listed pages, and then click on the Publish option again.
If Multi-Target Publish has been enabled for the site and alternative publish targets defined, users with the proper authority level can publish to it. The defined publish targets are available in various drop-down menus. This includes for previewing and comparing pages, and any form of publishing, as well as for inserting links, images, and other media. When viewing the Pages view of the site, the available servers, including the staging, production, and additional publish targets are shown in tab view.
For more information regarding Multi-Target Publish, please see:
Once a file has been published, the notes input before the file is published can be viewed within the versioning system. To view the notes, navigate to Content > Pages and select the Revert button next to any file. This will present a log of the publishes and backups, including any notes that were included.