Scheduling a Page to Expire
It is possible to schedule a page to expire on a specific date and time. When expiring a page, the available options depend on the type of file on the staging server, as well as the user level. The expire option is available to all users with the ability to publish.
Keep in mind that pages can also be recycled on the staging server or deleted from a production server. Recycled pages can be restored and republished. Deleted files are permanently deleted. An administrator, Level 8 user, or user level 1-8 that has been granted the permissions, can delete a file from a production server or publish target without affecting the original file on the staging server. Navigate to the file that should be deleted, and switch to the production or publish target tab. Clicking the delete icon for the file and confirming the action removes the file from the server. Keep in mind that if the original file on staging is republished for example with a directory or site publish, then the resultant derivative will be published to the appropriate servers. Alternative options for deleting a file from the production server include:
- Having a "stock" page that can be used to replace the content on the page that needs to be removed from production using the expire option. See below for more information about expiring a page. The stock page might include a 404 error or some other similar message. This allows the versioning of a page to be preserved.
- Recycling the page on staging rather than simply deleting it from production. The staging file can be restored and republished, if ever necessary, and this also restores previous versions.
- Use a redirect template to overwrite the existing content with a redirect to another page. If the page is requested, the visitor is redirected to the appropriate page. This allows for the versioning of the original page to remain on staging.
- Configure a directory variable to prevent a specific page from being published. For more information: Directory Variables
To schedule a page to be expired, simply click the icon: found in the folder structure view under Content > Pages.
Scheduling a content expiration allows users to schedule one of three expiration events:
- Replace the file with another one. This copies the content from the chosen page and pastes it into the source for the page marked as expired.
- Redirect a visitor to different content. This is not available when expiring a .pcf.
- Delete the file. This options is only available to Level 8 users and higher.
Important Note: Expiring files have site-wide effects. Consider all potential impacts and make all necessary backups before proceeding with expiring a page.
- Replace: Selecting this option will schedule to replace the file with the contents of another. To use this, click the Choose Replacement File text and select the replacement file from the resulting file chooser. This does not have an effect on the other page.
- Redirect: Selecting this option will schedule the file to redirect all visitors to a different
page. The To field requires a URL, or other valid absolute path. The second field specifies the
delay interval (in seconds) before a visitor is redirected to the new page. This field
defaults to 0 seconds. The final text area allows for a message to be displayed until
the redirect takes place.
Important Note: Redirect is not available for PCF files. When expiring content with a PCF file, the screen will appear like this.
- Delete: Selecting this option will schedule to delete the file on both production and staging servers. This option is only available to users with permission levels of 8 or higher. This option should be used with caution.
To change the scheduling for any file, go to the Scheduled Actions tab.