BASICS

ADMINISTRATION

DEVELOPMENT

SUPER ADMIN

  LAST UPDATED
10/18/2012

Moving a File

The Move File function allows for the moving of one or more files at a time. Only users assigned to Levels 8, 9, and 10 can move files, and Level 8 user can only move files to which they are assigned access rights. It's also important to note that moving files and folders will move them on both the Staging and Production Servers.

Moving a Single File

To move just one file, simply navigate to Content > Pages, and click the move icon associated with the desired file. A dialog will appear asking to "Choose new location" for the file. Navigate the list of directories until the desired location appears. Either click the directory and view the contents of that directory, or click "Choose" next to the directory name. To move any file to the root directory, simply click "Top" then "Choose this directory" in the top right corner of the dialog.

move single file screenshot

Moving Multiple Files

To move more than one file at the same time, select the files to be moved using the checkboxes found to the left of each file. Then click the move button near the top of the window. A dialog appears asking to "Choose new location" for the file. Navigate the list of directories until the desired location appears. Either click the directory and view the contents of that directory, or click "Choose" next to the directory name. To move the files to the root directory, simply click "Top" then "Choose this directory" in the top right corner of the dialog.

move multiple files screenshot

If Dependency Manager is turned on, a prompt will appear when moving a file or files indicating how many pages will need to be republished should the move process be completed. To continue, click "OK." This will republish the page based on the current version of the page on the live Production Server with the new Dependency links. If changes have been made but not published to the live site, those changes will still not be published to the live Production Server but will be available in OU Campus- and still saved on the Staging Server. This includes backed up versions.

Moving a File or Directory:
Moving a File or Directory


Was this page helpful?

Additional Comments:


(Include your email address if you would like a reply)

Procede to http://support.omniupdate.com/