Additional functionality for pages can be seen under Content > Pages. A few of the icons in this view represent the same functionality as those page actions that are found when editing, previewing, or publishing a page. This is the default screen shown when navigating to Content > Pages.
It can also be shown by clicking a green arrow to expand from the split-screen; for example, when in Preview or Edit mode, or when editing in the WYSIWYG.
Similarly to page actions, file operations are available based on user level and administrator-assigned functionality. The images included above provide a glimpse to all available functionality, it may or may not be what a particular user actually sees.
Pages are marked as “checked out” when they are locked to a user. There are multiple reasons that a page will appear as checked out to a user, and there are different indicators to help make clear why a page is marked as checked out, and whether or not the page is checked out to another user or the logged in user.
From within the folder structure view, the indicator for the status of a page in the workflow, including whether it is checked out or not, is found under the Edit column.
|An unlit light bulb indicates that the page is checked in and can be checked out for editing.|
|A lit light bulb indicates that the page is checked out to the current user (the individual currently logged into, working in, and viewing OU Campus).|
|A red lock indicates that the page is checked out to another user. It is possible to hover over the lock to see to whom the page is checked out. This will appear in a little pop-up.|
A gold lock indicates that the page is checked out to the current user because the user has scheduled an action to occur. The action could be either a scheduled publish or scheduled expiration. The lock will appear as a red lock to all other users.
|If the page is checked out due to a scheduled publish, in the Publish column, a calendar with a small, green plus sign will appear. This calendar icon can be clicked on by an administrator or the individual who scheduled the page to be published in order to change the publish date and time or to cancel the publish completely.|
|If the page is checked out due to a scheduled expiration, in the Publish column, a calendar with a small, red minus sign will appear. This calendar icon can be clicked on by an administrator or the individual who scheduled the page to expire in order to change the expiration date and time or to cancel the expiration completely.|
|A thumbs up indicates that the page is checked out to the current user as part of the workflow process. The page has been sent by another user for approval and should be reviewed for accuracy and completeness prior to being published.|
|Two chat bubbles indicate that the page is checked out to another user as part of the workflow process. The page is waiting for approval from that user. Hover over the chat bubbles to see to whom the page was sent for approval.|
Checking a Page Back In
It is valuable to note that pages and assets stay checked out to the user until the user:
- Sends the page to another user for review.
- Publishes the page.
- Checks the page back into the system by clicking on the lighted (yellow) light bulb from either the folder structure or the Current Projects view found in the Dashboard > Current Projects tab.
Make sure to check the page back in once it can be made available to other users.
The functionality available depends upon user permissions and the file status of the page.
|Checkbox: The checkbox can be used to select several file at one time so that Copy, Move, Delete, or Publish can be performed on multi-files. The other areas of the Content > Pages screen are documented on the overview page for the Content Tab: Content Tab Overview|
|Displays a representation icon for the file type, if known.|
|Allows a user to navigate to a higher level in the file structure, if available.|
|File Name: If linked, a user can click to invoke edit mode. If dimmed or not linked, the file is not available to that user. For more information see: Pages Overview|
|See: File Status Icons|
|Items: Add or Edit RSS Items|
|Edit Source: Source Editor (if available)|
|Edit Properties: Page Properties|
|Reminders: Schedule a reminder|
|Preview: Preview a Page|
|Compare: Comparing Pages|
|Check Pages: Page Check|
|Expire: Scheduling an Expire|
|Publish: Publishing Overview|
|Access: Set Access Settings|
|Log: Viewing the Log File|
|Backup: Creates a version of the page|
|Revert: Reverts to a previous version of the page|
|Rename: User levels 8, 9, and 10 have the ability to rename a file or directory|
|Copy: User levels 8, 9, and 10 have the ability to copy files or directory|
|Move: User levels 8, 9, and 10 have the ability to move files or directory|
|Recycle (or Delete): User levels 8, 9, and 10 have the ability to recycle files or directory, if the Recycle Bin is configured for the site. Otherwise, files and directories will be automatically deleted.|