BASICS

ADMINISTRATION

DEVELOPMENT

SUPER ADMIN

  LAST UPDATED
3/25/2013

Deleting Files and Directories

If the recycle bin is not configured for a site, then files can only be deleted. Even if recycle is in use, directories can only be deleted. The files within a directory can be recycled first to ensure that the files can be restored in the event this is necessary.

Deleting directories, pages, and other files completely removes them from the system, including any previous versions or backup. Deleting files and directories delete them from both the staging and production servers. Use delete with caution.

Only users assigned to levels 8, 9, and 10 can delete files and directories, and Level 8 users can only delete files and directories to which they are assigned access rights

Deleting a File

  1. Navigate the folder structure via Content Tab > Pages to the file.
  2. Click the delete button. Delete Icon
  3. Confirming the delete and click OK.

Deleting Files

MultiFile Delete

  1. Navigate the folder structure via Content Tab > Pages.
  2. Select the appropriate checkboxes for each file. The checkbox at the top of the column selects all files in the directory.
  3. Click the delete button Delete Iconabove the folder structure view.

Note: Deleting a file or files removes any previous versions or backup version. Deleting removes them from both the staging and production servers.

Deleting a Directory

Directories cannot be recycled on staging or on a production server. Directories that are deleted are permanently deleted. If recycle is available for the site, the multiple file recycle function can be used to simulate a directory recycle. Otherwise, deleting a directory deletes all contents within the directory on both the staging and production servers. Files within a directory are removed as are any previous versions and backups.

  1. Navigate the folder structure via Content Tab > Pages to the file.
  2. Select the directory to be deleted.
  3. Click the delete button. Delete Icon 
  4. Confirm that the directory should be deleted.
  5. Click OK.

 Deleting Directory

 


Was this page helpful?

Additional Comments:


(Include your email address if you would like a reply)