BASICS

ADMINISTRATION

DEVELOPMENT

SUPER ADMIN

  LAST UPDATED
4/23/2013

Users & Groups

Users and User Groups are an integral part of the OU Campus content management system. They are instrumental in setting up a smooth workflow and in assigning access. Users can be added to groups, and groups can be assigned to different areas, such as pages and directories. Assigning groups can also allow or deny access to a variety of functionality. Proper set up of users and groups can help create a CMS that is both easy for content contributors to manage content, and that is secure for administrators.

Users and Groups should be configured prior to attempting to set the access settings and permissions. Keep in mind that nothing is assigned to Groups. Groups are used as the assigned element.

Users and groups are account-wide settings; that is, the same user can access all sites within an account. Level 10 administrator privilege is necessary to modify and create users and user groups. Level 9 assistant administrators have unlimited rights to assign editing by group. Level 8 users have limited editing assignment rights. They can assignment a group for access to page, directory, or asset. It is limited to pages to which they belong and they can only assign to groups to which they belong.

Users

Setting up a user not only gives the individual access to access OU Campus, but it also defines the user's permissions level. There are 11 user levels within OU Campus (0–10). The most commonly used user levels are 4, 6, and 8, which is used sparingly. To see the inherent permissions available to each user level, see the Permissions Chart:

Permissions Chart

In addition to the inherit abilities dictated by a user’s permissions level, additional permissions can be assigned. These permissions include the ability to add words to the site’s custom dictionary, the assignment of an Approver, the ability to upload files, and the assignment of a custom toolbar. All users inherently have an ability to publish pages and Assets.

Assigning an Approver to a user revokes that user’s publish rights.

Users will be assigned to:

  • Groups
  • Approver settings for users, sites, directories, pages, and Assets

Groups

Users are assigned to Groups. It is possible to create empty Groups if they are needed during the implementation process. Custom Reports can be used to confirm that the users have been added to the appropriate Groups as necessary.


Nothing is assigned to Groups. Groups are used for assigning:

  • Access to sites, directories, pages, editable regions, and Assets
  • Individuals to be identified as Publishers for sites, directories, pages, and Assets

Was this page helpful?

Additional Comments:


(Include your email address if you would like a reply)

Procede to http://support.omniupdate.com/