Publishing and Servers
The OU Campus CMS by default includes publishing to both a staging and target server. Various publish settings can be configured at account level and at the site level to enable other publishing functionality for content reuse.
Auxiliary sites can also be added at the account and site level. Publish targets can be added to a site to allow for alternative production servers that might be used for development and testing. The Dependency Manager, when enabled, tracks page links within the site, and globally, across sites within an account.
The publish settings available both at an account level and site level are as follows:
- Enabling page check, and the page check options: spell check, link check, page validate, accessibility check. Accessibility check can be furthered configured for type of standard to check against and the severity of the issue.
- Auto-publish threshhold setting, which defines the maximum number of files to publish when performing an auto-publish as it applies to Assets and Dependency Manager.
- Selection of a URL shortening service, such as bit.ly.
Additionally, the default tweet for Twitter and default wall post for Facebook can be set at an account level and overridden at for each site.
At a site level are the following Publish Settings options:
- Disable/enabling final check (if enabled for the account); and its options: spell check, link check, page validate, accessibility check.
- The ability to remove OU tags when a file is pushed to production.
The configuration of these options under Setup > Account and Setup > Site determines what options are available to users at publish time.
Another available option for a site (Setup > Sites) regarding publishing is the ability to add a Publishers group to the production server. The Publishers drop-down under Publish Settings identifies the group that has access to publish to the production server. This is similar to the Access Group functionality. A group of None indicates that only administrators have access to publish. This means that when no Publishers group has been defined anyone without an approver who is editing/publishing a page or asset without an approver can publish to production. A user could publish to a server if she is in the group with access to that server AND is not restricted by an approver or is in a publishers group assigned to the file being published.
When publishing a page an error message indicates that the page includes unpublished content that might result in broken links or missing content. The unpublished content can include assets, binary files that have been uploaded to staging, and unpublished pages. The page also includes a Publish Option section that includes the ability to publish the unpublished dependencies.
Select the Include unpublished dependencies checkbox to publish the unpublished content.
For more information about page, directory, and site publishing: