BASICS

ADMINISTRATION

DEVELOPMENT

SUPER ADMIN

  LAST UPDATED
4/24/2013

Site Actions

An account may have multiple sites. Administrators can view, manage, and add new sites by navigating to Setup > Sites. This view will show the available site actions.
Sites Setup

Site Icon List

Once in the site list, all currently configured sites will appear. From this screen new sites can be created or existing sites modified or updated.

Site Actions

New Website To add a new web site, click the New Web Site icon.
Name: The name defined in the site setup.
Address: The URL assigned to the site.

  • Edit Site: Contains site properties, which can be edited, including the FTP settings, DirectEdit button, site preferences, publish settings, WYSIWYG Editor settings, and regex rules. See the documentation on creating a site for more details.
  • Access Settings: Contains editable information such as group access, approvers, template groups, toolbars, and Directory Variables. Selecting "This folder and all existing items within" will change ALL folders and files on the Staging Server. See the documentation on access for more details.
  • Asset Access Settings: Contains editable information such as approvers, publishers and access for the creation and modification of Assets. Group access can be assigned to particular Asset types. Selecting "This folder and all existing items within" will change ALL folders and files on the Staging Server. See the documentation on access for more details.
  • Clone: Will create a clone of the site settings to help in the creation of a new site. By default only the site settings are copied; the files within the site will not be copied.  Selecting the Include Staging Files checkbox copies files from the source to destination site. Items that do not get copied include assets, trash folder, archives, access settings, directory variables, etc. If the destination site has Dependency Manager turned on, the dependency links are updated to point to links on the cloned site. If there are links that point to a separate site, those are left the same. Asset linking is unchanged and continue to point to the original asset.

    See the documentation on creating a site for more details on the fields found here.
  • Initialize: Adds a DirectEdit button or updates the last modified date within the DirectEdit buttons to all pages on the Staging Server. If using the last modified date link for the DirectEdit button, doing this will set all pages on the Staging Server to have the current date. Using this does not affect the files on the Production Server unless the site is published.
  • Scan: Runs a scan to synchronize the database with the files on the Staging Server. If Dependency Manager is on, the scan will also identify the valid paths the Dependency Manager Scanner can convert within the target site or directory and replace them with Dependency tags, ignoring invalid paths. This is safe to do, but should only be done during off-peak times (evenings or weekends). This scan can take up to 1 or 2 hours for a large site. Subsequent scans will be much quicker in the first 2 passes. Get more information on how to run a scan.
  • Revert: Will only appear if Dependency Manager has been turned on, and will convert all Dependency tags to root relative links or absolute links depending on site settings. If necessary, this should only be done during off-peak times (evenings or weekends). This scan can take up to 1 or 2 hours for a large site. Get more information on the Reverse scan with Dependency Manager.
  • Commit: Creates a backup of the entire site to the versioning system. A new version of each page will be added to the version list of each page.
  • Publish: Publishes all files currently saved on the Staging Server and pushes them to the Production Server. Learn more about publishing pages.
  • Export Sitemap: Creates and publishes an XML file with the paths to the pages that are within the site. It is possible to exclude pages and directories by using the access settings. Learn more about generating a sitemap.
  • Export: Exports the entire site to as a .zip file to the local workstation being used. This export does not contain the past versions of pages or any access settings for directories or files. The export does not include binary files that are on the production server. The export will only contain files on the Staging Server. It is advisable and can be useful to perform a Dependency Manager revert on the site prior to export. After exporting, simply re-scan the site to have the Dependency tags re-added.
  • Delete: Deletes the site from the site list and the database records. The site can be restored if the same site name is used (as all the files still reside on the Staging Server), but the database information, permissions, dependencies, etc. will no longer exist.

For more information about setting up sites, go to the overview of the site creation screen.


Was this page helpful?

Additional Comments:


(Include your email address if you would like a reply)

Procede to http://support.omniupdate.com/