Accounts

Overview

When logged in through the SuperAdmin interface, an administrator has access to the Accounts screen, which is shown by default. At any time, the Accounts screen can also be accessed from the global navigation bar by selecting Accounts.

Accounts Menu Item

The Accounts screen displays the OU Campus skin name in the breadcrumb and a list of all accounts that exist within that skin. It is important to remember that each account in the list view is a top-level directory, so any changes made on the Accounts screen are made recursively throughout all child directories and sites. The Accounts screen includes the following features and functions:

  • Number of accounts in the skin
  • Checkbox to show or hide hidden accounts (with number of hidden accounts listed)
  • Filter tool to filter the list view
  • The New button to create new accounts
  • Accounts list view with sortable columns for account name, name of primary account contact, date created, date last saved, and number of saves made in the account.
  • Hover options available for each account row
  • The ability to edit and delete existing accounts in bulk
  • Statistics for all accounts within the skin

Accounts Screen

Account Options

An administrator can perform a number of actions on individual accounts from the Accounts screen. The actions bar is displayed when the user hovers over the account row.

Hover Options for an Account

Additionally, selecting the checkbox next to the target account’s name and choosing the action from the table header also enables the administrator to accomplish these actions.

Account Options in the Table Header

The available actions are:

  • Sites: Allows administrators to view the available sites contained within the selected account and create new accounts. For more information, visit the Sites page.
  • Users: Allows administrators to view the users within the selected account and create new users. This screen is the same as the Users screen found at Setup > Users in the OU Campus interface. For more information, visit the Users page.
  • Groups: Allows administrators to view the available user groups contained within the selected account and create new groups. This screen is the same as the Groups screen found at Setup > Groups. For more information, visit the Groups page.
  • New: Allows administrators to create a new site, user, or group in the selected account.
  • Edit: Allows administrators to edit the selected account settings.
  • Delete: Permanently deletes the selected account from the system. This process is irreversible.

Creating a New Account

In the SuperAdmin interface, an administrator may create a new account from the Accounts screen by clicking the New button.

New Account Button

After clicking New, fill out the fields in the General Settings, Login Settings, Publish Settings, Login Page, and Optional Fields panels and then click Save. For more detailed information on how to create a new account, visit the Account Settings page.

After an account has been configured, an administrator may freely add users and sites as they wish. A user must be created before a site can be logged in to. It is important to remember that the settings at the account level affect all sites, directories, and users contained within the account. The account settings in the SuperAdmin interface are the same as the account settings available to the Level 10 administrator when logged into the normal OU Campus interface.

Editing Accounts

Administrators at the Super Administration level can edit account settings through the SuperAdmin interface. Note that account settings may also be edited when logged in to a site within OU Campus as a level 10 administrator. Changes made via an account setting within the SuperAdmin interface are reflected in the settings shown from the OU Campus interface when editing the account settings, and vice versa. To make changes on a single account:

  1. Navigate to the Accounts screen by selecting Accounts from the global navigation bar.
  2. Choose one of the following methods to edit the account settings:
  • Click the hyperlinked account name.
  • Hover over the account row and select Edit.
  • Select the checkbox next to the account’s linked name and click Edit from the table header.

Editing Accounts in Bulk

Administrators can also edit the settings of multiple accounts at once. The changes made from the Bulk Update Account Settings modal are applied to all of the currently selected accounts. To edit accounts in bulk:

  1. Navigate to the Accounts screen by selecting Accounts from the global navigation bar.
  2. Select the checkbox next to each account’s linked name that is to be edited and choose Edit from the table header. This displays the Bulk Update Account Settings modal.

    Editing Accounts in Bulk
  3. In the Bulk Update Account Settings modal, the selected accounts are shown in the Accounts field. An account can still be removed from the bulk update by clicking the x by its name, or another account may be added by clicking in the field and choosing an account from the drop-down menu.

    Bulk Update Account Settings Modal
  4. Select the checkbox next to each setting for which a modification will be made, and enter the desired information into the field. This will update the selected field in all selected accounts with the new information. Any field must have the checkbox selected in order for the information to be entered and saved.
  5. Enter any necessary information and click Save.

A success message is displayed at the bottom of the screen indicating that the changes have been made.

For more information, visit the Account Settings page.

Hiding and Showing Accounts

Accounts can be hidden from the Accounts list view within the SuperAdmin interface.

  1. From the Accounts screen, edit the account settings.
  2. In the Optional Features panel, select Hide Account.

Hide Account Checkbox

Once an account is hidden, it is not displayed on the Accounts screen unless the Show Hidden checkbox is selected. To make an account no longer hidden, simply go into the Accounts screen and deselect Hide Account in the same manner.

Deleting an Account

Administrators can delete accounts from the SuperAdmin interface. Only one account can be deleted at a time. Deleting an account is recursive and will delete all sites, directories, pages, users, and groups within that account. Deleting an account is irreversible, so it is recommended for administrators to exercise caution when performing this task and back up files in case they wish to be recovered at a later time. To delete an account:

  1. Navigate to the Accounts screen by selecting Accounts from the global navigation bar.
  2. Hover over the account row and select Delete. Additionally, selecting the checkbox next to the account’s linked name and clicking Delete from the table header also accomplishes this.
  3. A modal is shown prompting the administrator to confirm or cancel the operation. Click the Delete button.

Delete Account Modal

Once the account has been deleted, a success message is displayed at the bottom of the screen indicating that the account has successfully been deleted.

Viewing Skin Statistics

An information message is located at the bottom of the Accounts screen and shows statistics for all of the accounts within the skin.

Skin Totals

The skin statistics are as follows:

  • Accounts: Displays the total number of accounts within the skin.
  • Saves: Number of saves for any file saved within any site using the Source Editor or WYSIWYG Editor.