Users

RELATED CONTENT

Overview

Users and groups are account-wide settings; that is, the same user can access all sites within an account. Users and user groups can be created and modified by a level 10 administrator.

Users in Setup Menu

Setting up a user gives the individual the ability to access OU Campus and defines the user’s authority level, which provides inherent permission for specific functionality within the CMS. There are 11 user levels within OU Campus (0–10). The most commonly used user levels are 4 and 6 (general content contributors), and 8 (approvers, developers, etc.) . Level 9 and 10 users are considered administrators in OU Campus, with Level 10 administrators being the only users who can access to the Setup menu. For more information about the inherent permissions available to each user level, see the Permission Chart.

In addition to the inherent abilities provided with the authority level, additional permissions can be assigned. These permissions can range from the ability to add words to the site’s custom dictionary to the assignment of an approver. All users inherently have an ability to publish content unless otherwise revoked through the assignment of an approver, which is accomplished through the access settings in the interface or at a code level for site developers.

Users are added as members to groups, and groups, in turn, are assigned to specific areas or functions in order to limit the functionality to members of the group. Users, as individuals, can only be assigned to the approver settings.

Before group assignment can be designated, users must be added to the system. It is valuable to understand the various fields found in the user configuration prior to doing an initial import of users, since the fields found in the user settings can be included in the user import file in order to make the creation of initial users easier. User settings can be updated at any time.

An administrator can create new users and modify existing user settings from Setup > Users. A few settings can be user controlled from current user menu on the global navigation bar.

Users List View

The Users list view includes the following features and functionality:

  • Shows the number of users in the account
  • Filtering by user, name, and level
  • Creating a new user
  • Sorting the list by username, by name (the combination of first and last name), level, or the date and time of each user's login
  • Selecting multiple users to create a group
  • Selecting multiple users to delete users
  • Modifying a user's settings
  • Deleting a user

Users List View

Creating a New User

Level 10 administrators may create new users of any level and configure the settings available specific to that user level. To create a new user, click the New button in the upper, right-hand corner of the Setup > Users screen. When setting up a new user, the required information is indicated on-screen in bold. For new users, this includes the Username and User Level fields, and if not using LDAP, the Password field.

The User Information, Restrictions, Preferences, and LDAP Configuration panels are available during new user creation as well as being available for editing after. The New User Options are only available during the initial creation.

Basic Steps

  1. Navigate to Setup > Users.
  2. Click New.

    New Button

  3. Add User Information and Preference settings as necessary.

    New User Menu

  4. Under Restrictions, select the User Level and configure the level-specific settings.
  5. If it is necessary to send a welcome message and password, select the appropriate checkboxes. You can also create a group with that user or add them to existing groups.
    Sending a Welcome Message
  6. Click Create.

More Details for Creating Users

The following panels are available when creating a new user:

Note that both the Restrictions and Preferences panels include settings specific to the selected user level. Users can view selected settings from Settings in the current user menu on the global navigation bar and change the User Information items (with the exception of the Username), and can enable and disable Page Check, if so configured for user enablement at the account level.

Modifying Existing Users

Administrators may edit an existing user’s settings with the exception of Username. From Setup > Users, user settings can be modified by clicking on a user name, or hovering and clicking Edit, or selecting the checkbox next to the user name and clicking Edit. Remember to click Save when done making changes.

Deleting a User or Users

Created users can be deleted by hovering over a user and clicking Delete.

Multiple users can be deleted from the system with one action by selecting the checkboxes and clicking Delete.

Deleting a user removes the user from any access settings in which they were a part and checks in content that they had checked out either in workflow or otherwise.

Unlocking a User

An Level 10 administrator can reset a user if the user has become locked out of the account by attempting to log in with too many incorrect log in attempts. The number of failed attempts allowed is configured in Setup > Account. 

  1. Navigate to Setup > Users. The locked out user is shown with a red lock.
  2. Hover and click Reset. The user’s password remains the same as it was prior to the user being locked out.Users Reset

It is also possible, if CAS, Shibboleth, and LDAP are not being used, to change the user’s password by editing the user record. Keep in mind that the new password needs to be communicated to the user.

A user can reset his or her own password with the Reset Password feature.

For more information, visit the Log In page.

Creating a Group

In addition to being able to create groups from Setup > Groups, a group can be created from within the Users screen. Users must already be added to the system to be available for selection to be added to a group.

  1. Do one of the following:
    • Select the checkbox adjacent to each user to add as a member
    • Click the checkbox in the header row to select all users
    Create Group
  2. Click Create Group. This shows the New Group modal.New Group Modal
  3. Define the Name for the group. You can also select additional members to add to the group.
  4. Click Save.