Templates

Overview

Authority Level: Available to Level 10; Site-Specific

Managing templates allows an administrator to control what the end users have access to create, as well as which end user have access to a specific template. This includes the creation of new pages, new sections, and new empty folders. Here are two important concepts to distinguish between when managing templates:

  • Assigning a group of users to a template determines which users (as members of that group) can utilize that template
  • Assigning a template group to a directory determines which templates can be used in that directory

New Folder vs. New Section

The difference between creating a new folder and creating a new section is that when creating a new section, the template can be configured to create new pages as well. The basic New folder tool generally should not be used to create new directories that will contain web pages, as the support files are not created when selecting the New Folder checkbox. This will lead to error message as the supporting pages needed by the XSLs will not be available. The most common use of the New Folder checkbox is when users need a directory to contain images, PDFs, Word docs, or other non-web page files. For this reason, it is generally recommended to use template groups to allow administrators to repress the ability to have empty folders created in directories, as often times users can become confused between the basic (built-in) New Folder tool and new section templates (which create folders and files).

Assigning a User Group to a Template

It is the assigning of a group to a template that determines who can use that particular template to create new pages (or sections). The "Everyone" group is a system group that includes all users and cannot be edited at the administrator level. The "None" group indicates that no user group assignment has been made and that only Level 9 and Level 10 administrators have access. Any other group assignment allows for only the members of said group to use that template. This is one way to limit access to template usage for page creation. Specific template groups can also be assigned in the access settings for directories, ensuring that users creating pages within said directory can only use the allowed templates.

Some templates have a specific purpose and should only be used in a specific directory. This prevents new sections and pages from being created in areas in which they should not and also helps by disallowing access to users who should not have the ability to use templates to create certain types of content.

For example, the Faculty Profile template has a specific design for the content that is presented, which includes the same pieces of information that should be provided for each faculty member. The site developer may choose to make this template the only one available for new page creation within the Faculty directory. This can limit access to who can create new profiles, as well as ensure that when creating a new faculty profile only this one template can be chosen and that all the appropriate information is included.

Templates in the Setup Menu

Template Options

Templates and template groups can be managed from Setup > Templates. This includes configuring the settings for specific templates and for access to configuring templates groups.

For more information, visit the Template Options page.

Template Groups

Template groups can be created and then used to restrict the use of templates to a specific directory or directories by assigning the template group in the access settings.

For more information, visit the Template Groups page.

Template Files

When an account and the sites within it are initially configured, by default in the site settings template files are configured to be stored locally. While template files may also be stored remotely (on the production server), it is not usually configured in a such a manner.

For more information, visit the Template Files page.