Site Actions

Overview

While on the Sites screen, administrators can perform various functions on sites that have already been configured in the account. These functions become visible under the Last Save/Options table heading when a user hovers over the site row.

Site Actions Menu Options

The available options are as follows:

  • Edit
    • Site
    • Site Access
    • Asset Access
    • Tag Access
  • Publish
    • Publish Site
    • Publish Sitemap.xml
  • Scan
    • Dependency Scan
    • Revert Site
  • Actions
    • Clone
    • Save Version
    • Initialize
    • Purge Staging Binaries
    • Export as Zip File
    • Delete

Edit Icon Edit Menu

Edit Menu

Icon Text Description
 Sites Icon Site

Brings the administrator to Site Settings, where site information can be edited. Site Settings includes the following panels:

  • Site Information
  • Production Server FTP Settings
  • DirectEdit Button
  • Site Preferences
  • Publish Settings
  • WYSIWYG Editor
  • File Naming
  • Binary File Naming
  • LDP Settings
  • Auxiliary Sites
  • Optional Features

Users can also reach the Site Settings screen by clicking on the linked site name in the Sites list view.

Access Icon Site Access

Brings up the Site Access Settings modal, where administrators can modify access settings at the site level. Options include:

  • Recursive Modification
  • Access Group
  • Approver
  • Enforce Approver
  • Bypass Aproval
  • Template Group
  • Extensions (allowed/disallowed)
  • Toolbar
  • RSS Feed
  • URL Type
  • Exclude from Search
  • Exclude from Sitemap.xml
  • Directory Variables

Changes may be made independently and recursively. Recursive modifications are made to all items even if checked-out by another user or in workflow, and retain their status. Directory variables always inherit and recursive modifications do not apply.

Asset Icon Asset Access

Used to modify the asset access settings at the site level, which include:

  • Recursive Modification
  • Access Group
  • Available To
  • Approver
  • Enforce Approver
  • Bypass Approval
  • Asset Creation Access

With the exception of creation groups, settings can be applied recursively. Recursive modifications are made to all existing assets, even ones checked out by another user or in workflow. Modifications made to these assets will not alter their status.

Tag Icon Tag Access

Used to modify the tag access settings at the site level, which include:

Publish Icon Publish Menu

Publish Menu

Icon Text Description
Publish Site Icon Publish Site

Publishes all files currently saved on the staging server and pushes them to the production server, which by default includes checked out files. Options for a site publish include:

  • Checked-in Files Only
  • Use Last Published Version
  • Changed Files Only
  • Exclude Binary Files
  • Also Include Unpublished Dependencies
  • Publish Target (if Multi-Target Publish is in use, an alternative publish target may be chosen)
  • Version Description is added to all pages
 Generate Site Map Icon Publish Sitemap.xml Generates an XML file with the paths to the pages that are within the site. It is possible to exclude pages and directories by using access settings.

Scan Icon Scan Menu 

Scan Menu

Icon Text Description
Scan Icon Dependency Scan Runs a scan to synchronize the database with the files on the staging server. If Dependency Manager is enabled, the scan will also identify the valid paths the Dependency Manager scanner can convert within the target site and replace them with dependency tags, ignoring invalid paths. This is safe to do, but should only be done during off-peak times, such as evenings or weekends. This scan can take up to one or two hours for a large site. Subsequent scans will be much quicker in the first two passes. With Binary Management enabled, the scan and assignment of dependency tags also includes images and other binary files.
Revert Icon Revert Site  Revert is only available if Dependency Manager is enabled for the account. Performing a reverse scan converts all dependency tags to root relative links or absolute links, depending on the site settings. If necessary, this should only be done during off-peak times, such as evenings or weekends. This scan can take up to 1 or 2 hours for a large site.

Actions Icon Actions Menu

Actions Menu

Icon Text Description
 Clone Site Icon Clone Clone creates a copy of the site settings to help in the creation of a new site. By default, only the site settings are copied; the files within the site are not copied. Selecting the Include Staging Files checkbox copies files from the source to destination site. Items that do not get copied include assets, trash folder, archives, access settings, directory variables, etc. If the destination site has Dependency Manager turned on, the dependency links are updated to point to links on the cloned site. If there are links that point to a separate site, those are left the same. Asset linking is unchanged and continue to point to the original asset.
 Save Version Icon Save Version Creates a backup of the entire site to the versioning system. A new version of each page is added to the version list of each page. When performing a commit at the site level, the account name is notated as the user in the version list.
 Initialize Icon Initialize Initialize adds a DirectEdit button or updates the last modified date within the DirectEdit button to all pages on the staging server. If using the last modified date link for the DirectEdit button, doing this sets all pages on the staging server to have the current date. Using this does not affect the files on the production server unless the site is published.
Purge Staging Binaries Icon Purge Staging Binaries Removes binary files (images, etc.) from the staging server. When Binary Management is disabled, binary files, such as images, media, PDFs, and documents are uploaded directly to the production server. This feature removes files that are considered a binary file type from the staging server. This function does NOT affect or delete any files on the production server. If Binary Management was enabled at one time and then disabled, Purge can be used to remove any binary files still extant on staging. This command is only available when Binary Management is disabled for a site.
Export as Zip File Icon Export as Zip File Exports the entire site as a .zip file to the local workstation being used. This export will include the past versions of pages, but will not contain any access settings for directories or files, nor directory variables. The export does not include binary files that are only stored on the production server. The export only contains files on the staging server. It is advisable and can be useful to perform a Dependency Manager revert on the site prior to export. After exporting, re-scan the site to have the dependency tags re-added.  
Delete Icon Delete
 
Deletes the site from the site list, deletes the site record, and the database records. The site can be restored if the same site name is used (as all the files still reside on the staging server), but the database information, permissions, dependencies, etc., will no longer exist. Files are not deleted from the production server or any publish targets.