Groups

Overview

Administrators can create groups of users from Setup > Groups. Groups play an important role in the configuration of access settings inside OU Campus, as only members of an assigned group have the ability to access or use certain portions of the interface or file structure. Administrators use groups to assign access to assets, directories, pages, and editable regions inside of the site, to grant access to alternative production targets, to assign or revoke publishing privileges, and much more. While a single user can belong to as many groups as they want, access settings to a particular location or feature can only be assigned to one group at a time. For more information about the role of groups in access and workflow, please visit the Access Settings page.

Groups in the Setup Menu

From Setup > Groups, administrators can create, edit, and delete the groups configured for the account. Groups, like users, are available for all sites within an account. Once a group has been created, members can be added or removed, but the name of a group cannot be edited. Deleting a user from the system automatically deletes that user from any groups they belonged to.

By default, every account will have one group entitled "Everyone" that will include all users that exist in this account; this group cannot be modified or deleted.

The Groups screen includes the following features and functionality:

  • The number of groups in the account
  • Filter tool to narrow results by group name and number of members
  • The ability to create a new group
  • Checkboxes to select multiple groups for deleting groups en masse
  • Sortable table headers by name or by number of members
  • The ability to add and delete members from existing groups

 Groups List View

Creating a New Group

  1. Navigate to Setup > Groups.
  2. Click the New button in the upper right-hand corner of the Groups screen.
  3. Define a Name for the group. Keep in mind that this cannot be changed once saved.

    New Group Modal
  4. To add members to a group, select a user or users from the Available Users list and use the single arrow pointing right to move the selection to the other list. Ctrl (PC) or Cmd (Mac)+Click allows administrators to select multiple users to add at once. The double arrows pointing right can be used to add all available users into the Group Members list.

    Add to Group
  5. To remove members from the group, select a user or users from the Members list and use the single arrow pointing left to move the selection to the other list. Ctrl (PC) or Cmd (Mac)+Click allows administrators to select multiple users to remove at once. The double arrows pointing left can be used to remove all group members from the Group Members list.

    Remove from Group
  6. Click Save when done.

Groups can also be created from Setup > Users by selecting multiple checkboxes in the Users list view and clicking Create Group in the table header. Groups containing a single user can also be created automatically when that user is created. The Create Group checkbox under New User Options allows for this feature. For more information about Users, visit the Users page.

Copying Groups

Groups can be copied to cut down on the time it takes to create a group with similar membership as another group that already exists. To copy a group:

  1. Navigate to Setup > Groups.
  2. Hover over the group row that will be copied and click Copy.
  3. The New Group modal appears with the previous group's users pre-populated. Add and remove group members as necessary.
  4. Give the new group a name.
  5. Click Save.
  6. The new group has been created.

Modifying/Deleting Existing Groups

Administrators can modify the membership of an existing group by clicking on the hyperlinked group name, selecting the checkbox next to the group name and clicking Edit in the table header, or hovering over the group row and selecting Edit under the Options column.

Groups can be deleted by hovering over the group row and selecting Delete under the Options column, or by selecting the checkbox next to a group's name and clicking Delete in the table header. Multiple groups can be deleted at the same time by selecting multiple checkboxes and clicking Delete.

Groups and Implementation of Sites

It is possible to create empty groups if they are needed during the implementation process. Use Custom Reports to confirm that the users have been added to the appropriate groups as necessary.

Functionality settings are not assigned to a group. Only users can be assigned to a group and then a group can be used for assigning access; for example:

  • To the production server, access to sites and publish targets, directories, pages, editable regions, assets, Twitter, Facebook, and templates
  • For group members to be identified as publishers for sites, directories, pages, assets, blogs
  • For editors of blog content

Groups can be defined during the implementation process if:

  • Restrictions on editable regions to a particular group are necessary
  • Access settings should be set during new section or new page creation
  • Certain page properties should be granted to particular groups

If any of these requirements are needed, they can be built into the templates, and they should be discussed prior to the initial building of the templates, or at the very least, during the reviews of the templates prior to any content being migrated. The groups created as part of this process can be left empty until the users are created and/or imported into the system, but the initial creation of the empty group allows for the group to be included in the page templates.

Names can contain:

  • Lowercase letters
  • Uppercase letters
  • Numerals 0 through 9 (inclusive)
  • Underscores  _
  • Hyphens -
  • Spaces 
  • Periods .

Names must:

  • Be a minimum of two characters in length

Names must not:

  • Be an empty string
  • Be greater than 32 characters in length
  • Be named "Everyone," as that is an existing system group and reserved