Workflow Troubleshooting

Overview

Because access settings can interact in increasingly complex ways, users may find themselves running into an unexpected lack of access. This page contains a list of common workflow situations and how to resolve any problems.

Lack of Access

Oftentimes, a user may simply not realize that they don't have access to a page or file they want to edit, or that they have limited editing capabilities on a page.

For example, if a user attempts to log into a page they do not have access to via DirectEdit, they will see the following error message:

No Permission to Access Page Message

If a user is not part of a group that has access to a directory, they will be unable to open that directory in the file structure - the text will be black, with no hyperlink. This applies even if there are pages within the directory that the user can access.

No File Access

Custom toolbars can also be configured and assigned to users, directories, and pages, meaning that some standard options may not be available to users. Additionally, not every user is allowed access to editing source code. Permission to edit source code may be granted to users Levels 1 through 8, but it is turned off by default.

Solution: If you can't access a page or function you think you should, contact your institution's web administrator. They may have deliberately or accidentally restricted access to that item. 

Linking to Pages

While editing pages, users may find themselves in the situation where they wish to insert a link to a file or directory they cannot access. They will be unable to view the file or directory within the file chooser when inserting a link.

Solution: While access is denied on staging, the production server is available to all users. Switch the server from "Staging" to "Production" in the top right-hand corner of the file chooser and find the page you wish to link to. The link will be inserted as normal, using a Dependency Manager tag.

Switching Server from Staging to Production

Can't Publish Pages

If you have allowed certain users to publish in a directory but they still cannot do so, check the production server settings for your site, located in Setup > Sites > Production Server FTP Settings (available only to level 10 Administrators). This panel controls access to the production server for your site, which is where publication takes place. 

Within Production Server FTP Settings, look for the "Available To" setting. This specifically controls who can publish on your site. By default, it is set to "(Administrators Only)," but other available options are "Everyone" and any groups that have been configured for the site.

FTP Settings

Solution: If you would like multiple users to have publish capabilities in different directories in the site, the recommended action is to configure the "Available To" setting so that the group "Everyone" can publish, and then restrict publish options to specific groups on a directory-by-directory basis. The other option is to have a designated group of users who can publish pages, and then configure every other user to have an enforced approver who is a member of that group. 

For more information, visit the Production Server FTP Settings page. 

Broken Template Images

Many administrators restrict access to the _resources folder to "Admin Only." However, if applied recursively, this means that users without access will be unable to see the template thumbnails, as those are stored within _resources.

Broken Template Images

 

Solution: Change the access group to the folder that holds those images to "Everyone"; as long as the _resources folder is still set to "Admin Only," users will still be unable to navigate to it.