Site Access Settings

Overview

The access settings for a site in OU Campus provide control for much of the functionality found throughout the system, but can still be overridden by access settings that are closer to the content. Examples of the settings include defining which users can access the content, publish the content, and even override the approval process. Understanding the access settings and how settings closer to the content take precedence and inheritance can be very helpful in configuring a site in order to provide the appropriate access to content to specific groups of users.

Settings applied here can be applied recursively to existing items throughout the site and those created in the future, or non-recursively, which will apply the changes to the root folder only for items going forward. The access settings for a site are located through Setup > Sites > Edit > Site Access, and are available to Level 10 administrators only.

Assigning Access at the Site Level

  1. Navigate to the Pages list view for the directory.
  2. Hover over the site row, and from the Edit menu, choose Access.Site Access List View
  3. For Recursive Modification, leave at the default, which is Apply All Settings to This Folder Only
  4. Change the setting as needed. The following access settings are available:
    • Access Group: Sets the group that has the ability to access and edit the content within, as well as creating new pages and sections (depending on template settings), and uploading files (depending on user settings) 
    • Approver: Assigns a default user to whom content must be sent prior to publication. Unless Enforce Approver (see below) is also implemented, a user can choose a different user to whom to send content, but they are still unable to publish unless they are in the group selected to Bypass Approval or a Level 10 administrator. 
    • Enforce ApproverMakes the drop-down choice of user unavailable when content is being sent to an approver, requiring the user to send the page to the identified approver.
    • Bypass Approval:  The group that has the ability to override any approver settings and publish directly without sending to another. A setting of (Level 10 administrators only) means that no Bypass Approval group has been assigned and no one, except a Level 10, is able to bypass the approval process.
    • Template Group:  Assigns a template group for the current folder. A template group can be can be configured to include only specific templates and then assigned to a directory in order to ensure that templates not related to the folder are not used, i.e. preventing users in the athletics directory from using templates meant for admissions.  
    • Extensions:  Files can either be allowed or disallowed. Click here for the Setting Extensions Allowed/Disallowed Tutorial.
    • Toolbar: Defines the toolbar to be used in the WYSIWYG Editor when editing a page. However, if a user has a specific toolbar assigned to them this will override the toolbar setting for that page. Custom toolbars can be created and assigned via the Setup menu.
    • RSS Feed:  Defines the RSS feed for directory. Items created within an associated page will be published to the chosen feed. 
    • URL Type:  Defines the URL structure by normalizing links inserted on the page to the chosen type, Absolute, Root Relative, or Page Relative. This is used by the Dependency Manager and WYSIWYGEditor for internal links. The default setting is (Inherit from Site Settings), which means that if the URL Type is set for a directory, but not set recursively for subdirectories, the subdirectories will take the value of the setting from the site record. Click here to read more about URL Type.
    • Exclude Search:  Prevents the included content from being indexed for inclusion in results for Quick Search.
    • Exclude from Sitemap:  Prevents the file from being included in the XML sitemap generated for a site.
  5. Click Save.

Site Access Settings Modal