Page Access Settings

Overview

Page access settings are a subset of those available at the directory level, as there are more options for control at the directory level than at the page level. The access settings for a page can be be navigated to from the Pages list view or from the Page Actions toolbar when viewing a page:

  • From Pages list view: Edit > Access
  • From Page Actions toolbar: Properties > Access

Example of Access Settings in Page Properties

Access Settings as shown from Properties

 

Example of Page Access Settings Modal

Page Access Settings Modal

Assigning Access to a Page

Access settings at the page level override settings for a site, directory, or user. Those set on an editable region take precedence over those set at a page level. A page's access settings can be edited regardless of whether it is checked in or out.

  1. Navigate to the file in the Pages list view. 
  2. Hover over Edit on the file row and choose Access. Alternatively, from the Page Actions toolbar, click Properties and select Access.

    Access Menu Item

  3. This displays a modal where the access settings can be modified. Settings include: 
    • Access Group: Sets the group that has the ability to access and edit the content within
    • Approver: Assigns a default user to whom content must be sent prior to publication. Unless Enforce Approver (see below) is also implemented, a user can choose a different user to whom to send content, but they are still unable to publish unless they are in the group selected to Bypass Approval or a Level 10 administrator. 
    • Enforce ApproverMakes the drop-down choice of user unavailable when content is being sent to an approver, requiring the user to send the page to the identified approver.
    • Bypass Approval: The group that has the ability to override any approver settings and publish directly without sending to another. A setting of (Level 10 administrators only) means that no Bypass Approval group has been assigned and no one, except a Level 10, is able to bypass the approval process.
    • Toolbar: Defines the toolbar to be used in the WYSIWYG Editor when editing a page. However, if a user has a specific toolbar assigned to them this will override the toolbar setting for that page. Custom toolbars can be created and assigned via the Setup menu.
    • RSS Feed:  Defines the RSS feed for page. Items created within an associated page will be published to the chosen feed. 
    • URL Type:  Defines the URL structure by normalizing links inserted on the page to the chosen type, Absolute, Root Relative, or Page Relative. This is used by the Dependency Manager and WYSIWYG Editor for internal links. The default setting is (Inherit from Site Settings), which means that if the URL Type is set for a directory, but not set recursively for subdirectories, the subdirectories will take the value of the setting from the site record. Click here to read more about URL Type.
    • Exclude Search:  Prevents the included content from being indexed for inclusion in results for Quick Search.
    • Exclude from Sitemap:  Prevents the file from being included in the XML sitemap generated for a site.
  4. Click Save

Access from Page Actions Toolbar

If the user is previewing or editing the page, the access settings can be modified from the page's Properties. 

  1. On the Page Actions toolbar, click Properties.Properties on Page Actions Toolbar
  2. Choose Access from the menu.Page Properties Access
  3. The Access Settings panel is shown. Make changes to the settings for the page.
  4. Click Save

Note: There is one exception to Page Access Settings. A user that does not have access to a page can still set reminders for it. This allows users to remind another user to update a file that they themselves do not have access to.

Accessing a Reminder