Level 4 users and greater have inherent access to the Assets screen, unless otherwise restricted in access settings by an administrator. By default, when an asset is created within any site within the account, it shown in the Assets list view, but asset access settings can be changed so that assets are only available within the site in which they were created. Once an asset is created, it can be inserted onto a page from the WYSIWYG Editor. When an asset is checked out and the user is viewing the Preview Asset screen or the Edit Asset screen, the Asset Actions toolbar is displayed. The available options provide the user with various actions that can be performed on the asset, including the ability to edit an asset's properties. A user can perform this action by navigating to the General Properties screen by clicking the Properties button in the Asset Action toolbar.
Properties can also be be accessed from the Assets list view by hovering over a specific checked-out asset, and from the Edit menu, selecting Properties.
Each can be viewed independently by selecting the menu item from the left navigation. Additionally, these properties can be viewed from the Properties menu or from the hover menus on the Asset list view and File Navigation sidebar. The features and functionality available for properties include:
- General Properties
- Access Settings
General Properties Panel
The General Properties panel allows users to edit basic metadata properties relevant to the currently selected asset, create tags, and limit the availability of the asset to the current site. The following are displayed in the General Properties panel:
- Name: The user-friendly name assigned to the asset by a user during the creation process. An asset can be renamed from the Asset list view after an asset has been created.
- Description: A short description of the asset's functionality.
- Tags: Define new tags or use existing tags, which will be used for filtering.
- Lock to Site: By default, the asset is available to all sites within an account. To limit the asset to the current site, select the checkbox for this option.
Asset Access Settings Panel
The Access Settings panel on the Properties screen allows for the configuration of the group whose members have access to editing and access to use the asset. Also the workflow settings with regards to an approver, enforced approver, and bypass approval can be configured. The Access Settings panel contains the following elements:
- Access Group: Defines the user group whose members have permission rights to edit the asset.
- Available To: Defines the user group that has permission rights to use this asset. This group will not be able to edit the asset in any form.
- Approver: Setting an approver overrides all users' approvers for this asset. By default, this option is set to use approval settings inherited by the site access settings.
- Enforce Approver: Selecting this checkbox overrides all approval settings and instead disallows users to self-publish their assets. Instead, all assets must first be sent to an approver to be published.
- Bypass Approver: Allows users in the selected group to bypass the approval process and publish the asset immediately.
It is important to remember that asset access settings can also be edited at the account level by a Level 10 administrator.
For more information about changing site asset access settings, visit the Site Asset Access Settings page.
Similar to pages, access settings can be changed with the Bypass Approval group and to limit access to a specific group, or in the case of the Approver setting, a user. While the initial settings may be defined at the site level, they can be overridden at an individual asset level.
With the exception of the Readers setting, access settings for assets work in the same way as for pages. Asset access restrictions can limit the editing, publishing, and use of an asset. For example, an asset’s access is set for User A (but not User B). User B cannot edit, manipulate, or publish the asset. However, User B can use the asset in the Source Editor, WYSIWYG Editor, or an Asset Chooser. The Readers setting limits the ability to see, and therefore use, the asset by group.
Log List View
The Log on the Properties screen provides users with a list view of all previous actions performed on the currently selected asset. A user can both filter these results, as well as sort them by Action, Date, and User.