Pending Approvals

Overview

Authority Level: All user levels. Level 9 and Level 10 administrators will see all pages pending approval by any user in the report. User levels 0 through 8 will only see pages pending their approval.

Pending Approvals in the Reports Menu

The Pending Approvals report lists all of content currently in the workflow awaiting approval. This report can be found by navigating to Reports > Pending Approvals. For each report item, the report shows the file type with an icon, file path and name, the name of the user who sent the file for approval, the name of the approver, the date of the start of workflow, and the last date the file was modified. From the Actions menu, Users can reassign, check in content, and approve or decline the approval (if the file has been sent to them for approval).

In the Pending Approvals report , users can:

  • See a list of the files pending approval
  • Filter results by Path, who the approver is, or who submitted the file for approval
  • Sort results by column: Type, Path, Approver, From, Workflow Started, and Modified Date
  • Click the linked file name to view in Preview mode
  • Hover and selecting a workflow-related action from the Actions menu
  • Export report results to CSV

Pending Approvals List View

Actions Menu

Every file submitted for review has options that will appear upon hovering over the corresponding row. The options on the Actions menu include:

  • Reassign 
  • Check In
  • Approve and Publish (Shown when the file has been sent to the currently logged-in administrator for approval)
  • Decline (Shown when the file has been sent to the currently logged-in administrator for approval)

Pending Approvals Actions Menu

Reassign

Reassign Menu Item

When a file is reassigned, it is removed from the approver′s workflow and placed in the workflow of another user. For more information on how workflow works in OU Campus, visit the Workflow page.

To reassign a file:

  1. Hover over the page row and from the Actions menu, choose Reassign.
  2. From the Reassign Approval modal, choose the new approver from the To drop-down menu. It is important to note here that only Level 9 and 10 administrators and users who have access to that page are shown in the drop-down menu.
  3. Enter a Subject (required) and optionally, enter a Message. 

    Reassign Approval Modal
  4. If the Send Copy to Email checkbox is selected, an external email is sent to email address defined in the user′s settings. The content of the message includes several links and, optionally, a message from the submitting user. The included links are:
    • To the page submitted for review.
    • To the user's Dashboard inbox, where a copy of the message can be viewed.
    • To the original, unedited version of the page.
  5. When finished filling out the required text fields, choose Submit
  6. After the page has been reassigned, the approver for the page is changed and this is reflected in the Workflow list view. An internal message is sent to the new approver notifying them that a new page is awaiting approval. The user who originally sent the page also receives a message in the system notifying them that the approver has been changed.

Check In

Check In Menu Item

Choosing Check In removes the page from the workflow and checks it back in to the system.

The changes made to the file are saved, but it is not automatically published. The page must be published for the changes to be updated on the public-facing web site.

Approve and Publish

Approve and Publish Menu Item

If the file selected is waiting for approval from the current user, then the option to Approve and Publish is available. 

Choosing Approve and Publish displays the Publish modal for the page, which can include other publishing options depending upon the site configuration. For example, the Final Check, Schedule, and Social Media tabs may be available for those specific features and functionality.

For more information about the approvals workflow, visit the Workflow page.

Decline

Decline Menu Item

If the file selected is waiting for approval from the current user, then the option to Decline is available.

Decline removes the file from the approver′s workflow and sends the file back to the original sender for further editing and changes. Unlike Reassign, the ability to choose a user to send the page to becomes unavailable. This value is predefined as the original user who submitted the page for approval and cannot be changed.

To decline an approval:

  1. Hover over the page row and from the Actions menu, choose Decline.
  2. Enter a Subject (required) and optionally, enter a Message.

    Decline Modal
  3. If the Revert to Previous Version checkbox is selected then the page submitted automatically reverts back to the last saved version of that page that is available on the production server. Selecting this function is optional.
  4. When finished filling out the required text fields, click the Decline button.

Once an approval has been successfully declined, a system message appears at the bottom of the screen indicating that the page has been declined for approval and checked back into the database. Additionally, a message is sent to the recipient's inbox internal to OU Campus indicating that their request for approval was denied.