Checked Out Content

Overview

Authority Level: Level 9 and Level 10 administrators will see all checked out content in the report. User levels 0 through 8 will only see content that is checked out to them.

Checked Out Content in the Reports Menu

The Checked Out Content report allows users to see what content (pages, assets, files, etc.) has been checked out. Checked out content includes files checked out to the current user, locked to other users, files scheduled for publish or expiration, and files pending approval in the workflow. In addition to being able to check in content, an administrator can preview pages and assets that are checked out to others. Lower user levels only see content checked out to them.

The Checked Out Content report includes:

  • The number of items checked out
  • The ability to filter results by the name of the file or who checked it out
  • Sorting by file type, file path and asset name, status, checked out by, or checked out date
  • Multi-selecting checkbox or individually selecting checkboxes to check-in en masse
  • Clicking the status icon to check in content
  • Administrators may check in files checked out to other users

Checked Out Content Report List View

Sorting Checked Out Content

The content can be organized according to different categories. By clicking on any of the following headers, content can be sorted in different ways.

Checked Out Content Header

Type (Icon): Provides an icon depicting the type of content that is checked out (e.g., page). Clicking on the Type column header will arrange the report by file type.

For an explanation of all different icons, visit the Icons reference page.

Name: Provides the path to the checked out page or the name of the asset. Clicking on the Name column header sorts the report by file name in ascending alphabetical order. Clicking the header again sorts the report by file name in descending alphabetical order.

Status: Gives the status of each item. Click the Status header sorts the report by file status, with pages checked in to the current user appearing first. Clicking the header again sorts the report in opposite order, with pages locked to another user appearing first.

For an explanation of all different icons, visit the Icons reference page.

Checked Out By: Provides the user name of the individual to whom the page is checked out. Clicking on the Checked Out By column header sorts the report by user name in ascending alphabetical order. Clicking the header again sorts the report by descending alphabetical order. 

Checked Out Date: Provides the date the content was checked out by the named user. Clicking the Checked Out Date column header sorts the report by ascending date of check out. Clicking the header again sorts the report by descending date of check out.

Last Saved Date: Provides the date and time the content was last saved by the named user. Clicking the header sorts the report by ascending save date. Clicking the header again sorts the report by descending save date.

Checking In Content

If a user has checked out a page and logged out of the system without checking that page back in, then no other user will be able to edit that page. A Level 9 or 10 administrator may check these pages back in.

Checking in a Single File

To view a record of all the checked out pages and assets in a site and check the content back in:

  1. Navigate to Reports > Checked Out Content.
  2. Hover over the status icon for the appropriate file and click.

    Checking In a Checked Out File

  3. This will open a confirmation modal. Note that any unsaved content will be lost and any scheduled publish or expiration will be canceled. To check the file back in to the system to make it available for other users to edit, click OK.

    Check In Page Confirmation Modal

Checking in Multiple Files

Multiple files may also be checked in at a time. 

  1. Navigate to Reports > Checked Out Content
  2. Use the checkboxes to the left of the files to select the desired files. 
  3. Click Check In from the top row. 

    Check In Multiple Files

  4. A success message is shown at the bottom of the screen confirming the check in of multiple files. 

Success Message for Checking In Multiple Files

Note: Pages which are waiting for approval are also listed here as checked out. Pages in workflow cannot be checked back in here; administrators can do so in the Pending Approvals report.

Checking in Content with a Scheduled Publish or Expiration

If the checked out content is checked out due to a scheduled publish or expiration, it is possible to click the icon in order to change or cancel the publish.

Removing Scheduled Publish Modal

After canceling the scheduled publish or expiration, the administrator can check in the page.

If the content is part of a multiple file check in, the scheduled publish or expire will be automatically canceled.