Save Versions

Overview

Although a unique version of a page is saved in OmniUpdate′s automatic version control system every time a page is published, users can also create a version at any time. For example, after editing and saving a page several times, a user may wish to create a permanent version or backup of the page before moving on with further edits, such as a find and replace. When editing a page, the Save Version button is available for this purpose. A user may also save a version of a page from the folder structure by checking out the page, hovering over Review and selecting Save Version.

When it is necessary to revert to a version, the user can view the list of versions and choose to compare versions from the Versions screen. The log file is also useful for determining what actions have been taken on a page.

Creating a Version

From the Folder Structure

  1. Navigate to Content > Pages.
  2. Check out the page by clicking the light bulb icon.
  3. Hover over the Options column > Review menu, and select Save Version. This displays the Save Version modal.

    Review Menu -- Save Version
    If so desired, click the linked current state text to see a preview of the page as it exists on staging. 

    Save Version Click to Preview
  4. Even though optional, it is recommended to enter a bit of descriptive text for the version. This can be viewed from the Versions screen and can be a useful clue in the future to differentiate between versions if it is necessary to revert a page.
  5. Click Save Version. A success message is displayed at the bottom of the screen.

From Preview or Edit

The basic steps are the same for creating a version of a page whether preview or edit mode, while editing a page with the WYSIWYG Editor, and from the folder structure as explained above. Again, the page must be checked out to the user before they can save a version.

  1. While viewing the checked out page, click Save Version.

    Save Version

  2. This displays the Save Version modal. If so desired, click the linked current state text to see a preview of the page as it exists on staging.
  3. Even though optional, it is recommended to to enter a bit of descriptive text for the version. This can be viewed from the Versions screen and can be a useful clue in the future if it is necessary to determine that a page should be reverted and to which version it should be reverted.
  4. Click Save Version. A success message is displayed at the bottom of the screen.