Whenever a page is saved or published, OU Campus keeps a record of the action. The page log feature displays all of the saves and publishes, whether manual, scheduled, or part of a directory or site publish, that have occurred for a specific page. User levels 5-10 can view the Log; level 9 and 10 administrators can view the Log for all files, while user levels 5-8 can only view the Log for files to which they have access.
Unlike the Versions screen, users cannot view snapshots of the page at different moments in time or revert back to a previous event in the Log. For more information on the versioning system in OU Campus, please visit the Versions page.
Users can view a page's log by hovering over the page's row and selecting Log from the Review menu in the Pages list view.
Users can also navigate to the Log by clicking on Log in the secondary navigation panel found when viewing Page Properties.
The Log screen includes the following:
- Number of items in the log
- The Filter tool to filter results by action name or user
- A list view of all actions performed on the page since its creation, with sortable columns for Action, User, and Date.
Log List View
The Log screen contains the Log list view, which displays a list of all previous actions performed on the currently selected content. The Log list view includes the following elements:
- Actions: The action performed per each row item. The actions displayed in this column will vary.
- Date: The date and time when the action was performed.
- User: The user who performed the action.
The actions that appear in the Log list view will vary between each row as each row represents a single action. The actions that are displayed include:
- Saved from WYSIWYG: The file was saved to the staging server from a WYSIWYG Editor.
- Saved from Source Editor: The file was saved to the staging server from the Source Editor.
- File Publish: The file was published to the production server. The action will also specify the name of the site that the file was published to.
- Content Republished: Content was published to the production server without any changes.
- Directory Publish: The selected directory and all content within that directory was published to the production server.
- Site Publish: The selected site and all content within that site was published to the production server.
- Scheduled Publish: A publish was executed on a predefined date set by a user.
- Content Reverted: The content on the staging server was reverted to a previous version in the versions archive.
- Content Expired: An expire was set on a file. An expire action can be set to replace or recycle.
- Content Recycled: The content was sent to the recycle bin.
- Content Recovered: The content was restored from the recycle bin and back into its original directory.
- Content Deleted: Content was permanently deleted from the recycle bin and the OU Campus system.
- Upload: Content uploaded to the staging server.
- Overwrite: The previous version of the selected content has been replaced with a new version.
- Find and Replace Publish: The file was published as part of a Find and Replace action.
The log for binary files is accessed the same way that it is for pages, and functions in the same way as well. The only difference is in some of the actions available.
- Saved from Image Editor: The file was saved to the staging server from the Image Editor
- Updated by Revert: The file on the staging server was reverted to a previous version in the versions archive.
Actions Not Applicable
- Content Republished
- Find and Replace Publish