Publish

Overview

Publish Options

Pages and other content files within OU Campus are located on a staging server. They must be published in order to be viewable on the World Wide Web. By default, all user levels can publish content, but this can be restricted by an administrator with the use of access settings or with an approver workflow. The following items may be on the Publish menu:

Pages can be published inherently by all user levels. However, it is possible to restrict publishing permissions by assigning an approver. That can also be overridden using the Bypass Approval feature in access settings, whereby the members of a group are given the ability to override the approval process and publish directly. Users can only publish pages to which they have access. 

For more information about approvals for publishing content, visit the Submit for Approval page.

Publishing a page is also a method to repurpose content. For example, at the time of a page publish, an RSS feed can be updated or a post can be sent to a connected Facebook or Twitter account. Page publish can include publishing to multiple outputs and alternative publish targets.

Additionally, a Final Check can be set to run before a page can be published. Final Check will perform a series of quality assurance tests on a page before publishing. These include spell checking, link checking, W3C validation, and accessibility compliance.

For more information on this topic, visit the Final Check page. 

Binary Files and Publishing

When Binary Management and Dependency Manager are turned on, binary file types also must be published to the production server to be displayed on the live website. For more information about publishing binary files, visit the Binary Management page. Also, see the Binary Management Reference Guide (PDF).

Assets and Publishing

Assets are not viewable on a page until they are published. Depending on access settings, if an approval workflow has been set up for a user, the same process in for publishing a page will be required. 

For more information, visit the Publishing Assets page.

"Unpublishing" a File: About Recycle, Delete, and Restore

To remove content from being published live on a site, pages and files must be moved to the Recycle Bin. By default, only administrators and Level 8 users can recycle and delete files, pages, directories, and assets. Administrators can also give Level 1–7 users the ability to recycle and delete files and directories. User levels 1-8 can only recycle and delete files to which they have access.

Pages that are moved to the Recycle Bin can be restored, if necessary. When a page is recycled on the staging server, the published derivatives are automatically removed from production servers. Once a page is deleted from Recycle Bin or a folder is deleted, it can no longer be retrieved. 

Pages and directories on the production server can only be permanently deleted. When pages and directories are deleted, it is no longer capable of being restored. Content deleted from the production server will still exist on the staging server, and can be re-published from there for viewing on the live site. This will place the file back on the production server

For more information, visit the Recycle Bin page.