Publishing a Site or Directory
Just like individual pages or files, directories or even entire sites can be published at one time from the staging server to the production server or to an alternative publish target (if one exists). Only when a page, directory or site is published is it available on the World Wide Web.
Only level 10 administrators can publish directories and sites.
When publishing a directory or site, administrators are able to take advantage of the same publish options available for pages, such as Multi-Target Publish.
If Multi-Target Publish has been enabled for the site and alternative publish targets defined, users with the proper authority level can publish to it. The defined publish targets are available in various drop-down menus. This includes for previewing and comparing pages, and any form of publishing, as well as for inserting links, images, and other media. When viewing the Pages view of the site, the available servers, including the staging, production, and additional publish targets, are shown on the grey option bar.
For more information regarding Multi-Target Publish, visit the Publish Targets page.
Publishing a Directory
Level 10 administrators have the ability to publish a directory. To publish a directory, navigate to the Pages list view and locate the appropriate directory. The user can then either:
- Select the checkbox next to the directory and click the Publish button that appears in the table header.
- Hover over the desired directory and click Publish from the Publish menu.
When performing a directory or site publish, the following are the behaviors for the default:
- Only checked-in pages are published.
- Pages that are currently checked out by other users remain checked out after the publish.
- A page checked out to another in workflow, but with saved changes, is published out.
- A page that is checked out to the active user is published and checked back in.
- A file with saved changes, but not checked out, is published.
Additionally, the following options are available:
- Include Checked-Out Files: Content checked out by the current user or by other users are published. After publish, content checked out by the current user is checked in. Content checked out by other users remains checked out to them.
- Include Files Scheduled for Publish: Files already scheduled to be published are published and then retain their scheduling no matter who performed the schedule action.
- Include Files in Workflow: Files in workflow are published and then remain in workflow after the publish, whether the files are send by or to the current user for approval.
- Publish Changed Files Only: Selecting this option publishes out changed files even if they are checked out to other users or the current user. A changed file that had been checked out by another user is published and remains checked out. A changed file that had been checked out by the current user is published and checked in. When this option is selected newly created pages and files that have not yet been published are published.
- Use Last Published Version: Selecting this option publishes the last published version of all the files and pages within the directory. Files that have been changed and saved, whether checked out or not, remain saved with changes on the staging server, and only the last published version is published to the target server (the new unpublished content will not be published). Any files and folders within the directory that have never been published before, will remain unpublished.
- Exclude Binary Files: Selecting this option excludes binary files within this directory from being initially published or from being republished.
- Include Unpublished Dependencies: This checkbox allows a user to publish all unpublished dependencies for the page at the time of publish. When selected, the Dependency Manager reports at the time of page publish if there is dependent content that has not been published to the target server. This includes content that is linked or referred to by the page that is being published, as well as assets that have been added to a page. This prevents broken links and images from occurring on the current page being published. This option only works if Dependency Manager is enabled, dependency tags are being used on the page being published, and one or more of the dependency tags in use refer to files that have not been published to the current target. (Dependency tags are those started with an a: or f: or d:
- Publish Target: If Multi-Target Publish is configured a publish target can be selected from the drop-down.
- Version Description: A description about the directory publish can be entered.
After the publish has been completed, the user who initiated the directory publish will be notified via the Inbox internal to OU Campus. The status of the publish will be included in this message, along with a list of any files that could not be published and the reason behind the failure.
Publishing a Site
Level 10 administrators have the ability to publish an entire site. The options are the same as with a directory publish. To publish an entire site:
- Navigate to Setup > Sites and locate the desired site, if multiple sites are available.
- Hover over Publish and choose Publish Site.
- Review the publish options in the Publish modal. See above for a detailed description of each option.
- The administrator will get a notification in their Inbox once the site publish has been completed similar to the one received after a directory publish.
Depending on how large your site is, a site publish may take up to an hour. Once begun, a site publish cannot be interrupted or canceled.