The Move to Recycle Bin function allows a user to remove a file from the staging and production servers and place it into the Recycle Bin, where from which it can be either restored or permanently deleted at a later time. Files can be recycled by hovering over the file row in the Pages list view, and selecting Move to Recycle Bin from the File menu. User levels 8-10 have the inherent ability to send files to the Recycle Bin, though administrators can grant this ability to user levels 1-7 on a per-user basis if desired.
For more information concerning the Recycle Bin itself, including restoring content, visit the Recycle Bin page.
When a file is moved to the Recycle Bin, derivatives on the production server or any publish targets are subsequently permanently deleted. If content is restored from the Recycle Bin, it must be republished to make the content available on the web site again. Files that are locked to another user or pending a user's approval cannot be recycled. An administrator needs to check in a page that is locked by another user before it can be recycled.
If the Recycle Bin is not configured for a site, then files can only be permanently deleted rather than recycled. Additionally, files that reside on a production target as well as directories cannot be recycled; they can only be deleted. More information on deleting files or directories can be found on the Delete page.
Moving a File to the Recycle Bin
- From the Content > Pages view, hover over the file row and from the File menu choose Move to Recycle Bin.
- Alternatively, one or more files can be selected by clicking the checkbox next to
each file name and clicking Move to Recycle Bin in the table header.
- The resulting modal will notify the user of any pages that link to the soon-to-be-recycled
file. Users can click the links to open each page in a new tab, in order to quickly
fix the resulting broken links from the recycle.
- Click Move to Recycle Bin.