The Move function allows users to move one or more files at a time. Only user levels 8, 9, and 10 can move files, and a Level 8 user can only move files to which they are assigned access rights. It is also important to note that moving files and folders will move them on both the staging and production servers. If a page or file has not been published, it will only be moved on staging. If Multi-Target Publish is in affect, the files are moved on any target to which it has been published.
Moving a Single File
A file can be moved from the Pages list view by hovering over the desired file and from the File menu, selecting Move; by selecting the checkbox adjacent to a file and clicking Move in the table header; or by dragging and dropping the file. Note that a file does not have to be checked out to be moved.
Moving a File from the Pages List View
- To move a file, do one of the following:
- From the Pages list view, hover over the desired file row and from the File menu select Move.
- From the Pages list view, select the checkbox or checkboxes to the left of the file
name(s) and from the table header click Move.
Moving a File using Drag and Drop
A file may be moved by dragging the file from the File Navigation sidebar to the desired location in the main content area.
- Navigate to the appropriate directory for the file to be moved to in the Pages list view.
- If necessary, expand the File Navigation sidebar using the folder button in the top left of the screen, and locate the file
to be moved.
- Drag the file from the File Navigation sidebar into the main content area to where the file should be moved. Directory rows
that appear in green are valid locations to move the file.
- A modal will appear to confirm the desire to move or copy the file to the new location.
Moving Multiple Files
Multiple files can be moved at once by selecting the checkboxes found to the left of each file, and then clicking the Move button in the table header. All files and subdirectories within a directory may be selected at one time by clicking the checkbox at the top of the list. Note that files do not have to be checked out to be moved.
- To move multiple files at one time, do one of the following:
- From the Pages list view, select the checkbox in the table header to select all files, and click Move.
- From the Pages list view, select the checkbox for each file to be moved and from the
table header, click Move.
Note: If Dependency Manager is turned on, a prompt will appear when moving a file or files indicating how many pages will need to be republished should the move process be completed. To continue, click OK.
Dependency Manager republishes any pages that link to the newly-moved page based on the current version of the pages on the live production server. If changes to the linking pages have been made and saved to the staging server, but not been published to the live site, those changes will still not be published to the live production server until they are manually published by a user. This includes backed up versions that have been manually created.
For more information about Dependency Manager, visit the Dependency Manager page.