Directory Options

Overview

Just as with individual pages, directories also have a File menu, from which various functionality is available. The following options are available under the File menu for a directory:

Only level 10 users are able to Scan a directory. Only users assigned to levels 8, 9, and 10 can move, copy, or rename folders. Level 8 may only rename, move, or copy folders to which they are assigned access rights. All behaviors are available on the staging server, while only Rename, Move, and Delete are available on the production server.

As a note, folders and sections are renamed, copied, and moved the same way in OU Campus. For the remainder of the page, both folders and sections will be referred to as "directories," which is the umbrella term for both items in OU Campus.

Note: The ability to rename, move, or copy a folder requires proper FTP/SFTP server support. If an error is experienced when attempting to rename, move, or copy a folder, chances are the FTP/SFTP server may not allow this action to be performed, or the server may need to be configured to permit folder renaming, moving, and copying.

Scanning a Directory

This function runs a scan on the selected directory, which syncs the files that exist on the staging server with the database. If Dependency Manager is activated for the site, then Scan will also scan all links on each page in the directory and replace any ordinary links to files on staging with dependency tags.

To scan a directory:

  1. Navigate to the Pages list view and locate the desired directory. Hover over File in the directory row and select Scan.

    Scan a Directory
  2. Confirm the scan in the following modal by clicking OK.
  3. The user will be notified when the scan is complete.

Renaming a Directory

  1. Navigate to the Pages list view and locate the desired directory. Hover over File in the directory row and select Rename.

    Renaming a Directory
  2. Input the new directory name in the highlighted box. 

    Renaming a Directory
  3. Click away from the directory, or press Enter. To cancel the rename, hit Esc.

Note: Renaming a directory changes its name on both the staging and production server.

Moving a Directory

Directories can be moved using any of the following methods:

  • In the Pages list view, hover over the directory row and select Move from the File menu.

    Moving a Directory using the File Menu
  • Select one or more checkboxes to the left of the directory name, and clicking Move in the table header.

    Moving a Directory using Checkboxes
  • Drag a directory to another location from the File Navigation sidebar into the Pages list view or from one location in the Pages list view to another.

    Moving a Directory via Drag and Drop

When using the Move option under the File menu, a modal will appear, where users can browse the file structure for where to move the directory and choose whether the files inside directories are shown.

Move Folder Modal

Note: Moving a folder changes its location on both the staging and production server.

Copying a Directory

Directories can be copied using one of the following methods: 

  • In the Pages list view, hover over the directory row and select Copy from the File menu. 

    Copying a Directory Using the File Menu
  • Select one or more checkboxes to the left of the directory name, and clicking Copy in the table header.

    Copying Directories Using Checkboxes
  • Hold down Control (PC) or Option (Mac) while clicking and dragging a directory from the File Navigation sidebar into the Pages list view or from one location in the Pages list view to another.

    Copying a Directory via Drag and Drop

When using the Copy option under the File menu, a modal will appear, where users can browse the file structure for where to copy the directory and choose whether the files inside directories are shown.

Copy Folder Modal