Using Auto Draft

Overview

The Auto Draft feature in the WYSIWYG editor will automatically save pages approximately every minute, while a user is editing. The last save stored by Auto Draft can be recovered up to 20 minutes later. If for any reason the browser window is closed or lost, this feature will allow a user to recover the last edit saved with Auto Draft by clicking the icon. To restore the content saved with Auto Draft, a user must open OU Campus with the same browser that was previously being used during the the last saved content.

NOTE: The Auto Draft icon is only shown in browsers that support this feature. 

Classic Editor

Autodraft in the Classic Toolbar

 

JustEdit
Autodraft in the JustEdit Toolbar

Restore Latest Draft

If for any reason the browser window is closed or lost, the user can come back into the WYSIWYG editor for the page and click the Auto Draft button to restore the latest auto-saved content. Remember that auto-saved drafts are stored locally on the user’s workstation, and the latest draft can be recovered up to 20 minutes later (unless other saves are performed before content recovery).

To restore auto-saved content:

  1. Open the same browser on the same workstation that was being used to edit the page. For example, if the page was being edited in Mozilla Firefox when the connection was lost, the Auto Draft retrieval must be completed in Firefox and on the same local system.
  2. Navigate to the page that was being edited.
  3. Access OU Campus via the DirectEdit link and log in.
  4. Click into the editable region that was being edited prior to the loss of connection.
  5. Before entering any content into the page, click the Auto Draft icon.
  6. Click OK.
  7. The saved content is restored.