Recycle Bin

Overview

The Recycle Bin is a tool inside OU Campus that allows users to "recycle" files on the staging server as opposed to permanently deleting them. This is helpful, as it reduces the damage done when a file is accidentally deleted from staging. Files in the Recycle Bin can be restored or permanently deleted by any user with access to the Recycle Bin.

The Recycle Bin is located at Content > Recycle Bin and is available to user levels 8 through 10 by default; all other user levels can be granted access to the Recycle Bin by a level 10 administrator.

 Recycle Bin in the Content Menu

Recycling Files

Any user who has permission to access the Recycle Bin has the ability to recycle files. User levels 8-10 have this permission automatically, but all user levels can be granted access to this functionality by a level 10 administrator.

Files can be recycled from the Pages list view. While navigating the Pages list view, hover over the page or file in question, and from the File menu, select Move to Recycle Bin. Alternatively, select the checkbox for the row and click Move to Recycle Bin from the table header. 

This will remove the file from the staging server and permanently delete any derivative files from the production server. The file will then reside in the Recycle Bin until it is either restored or permanently deleted.

Recycling a File from the Pages List View

There is no Recycle Bin option for files on the production server; they can only be deleted.

Multiple files can be recycled with the same action by selecting the checkboxes for multiple items in the list view and clicking Move to Recycle Bin in the table header.

Recycling Multiple Pages

Files that are checked out to another user, sent to another user for approval, or scheduled to be published by another user cannot be recycled.

Directories and the Recycle Bin

Directories themselves cannot be recycled; they can only be permanently deleted. The alternative is to recycle all files inside the directory and then permanently delete the directory. This way, all content inside the directory is preserved, in the event that it needs to be restored at a later date.

If multiple files are selected and a directory is included in that selection, the only option available will be to delete the files. Uncheck the directory to re-enable the Move to Recycle Bin option.

If a file has been recycled and its parent directory has been permanently deleted, restoring the file in question will recreate the original file path. However, the parent directory will be created as a new folder as opposed to a new section. This means that any PCF files inside this directory will not publish correctly, as they need to be published from within a section.

Using the Recycle Bin

Recycle Bin List View

The Recycle Bin includes the following:

  • A list of the number of files in the Recycle Bin
  • A Filter tool for users to narrow results shown in the list view
  • Delete All button to permanently delete all files in the Recycle Bin
  • Sortable columns for File Name, Original Location, Recycled By, and Recycle Date
  • Multi-file selection for restore and delete
  • Restore: One or more files can be returned to use on the staging server
  • Delete: One or more files can be permanently deleted  

When the Recycle Bin is enabled for a site, pages on the staging server must be recycled before they can be permanently deleted. Files on the production server or publish target cannot be recycled. From the Recycle Bin, users can also restore a page to its original location on the staging server. After a page has been restored, it must be re-published to the production server.

Multiple files of the same name can be sent to the Recycle Bin; the Recycle Bin will append each duplicate name with a number.

If a user who has recycled a file has been deleted from the account, their username will still appear under the Recycled By column heading.

Restoring Files

Singular or multiple files can be restored from the Recycle Bin. To restore a file:

  1. From the Content menu, select Recycle Bin.
  2. The Recycle Bin screen is displayed. Filter or sort through the list view as necessary for the desired file.
  3. Hover over the file row and in the Options column click Restore.

    Restore File from Recycle Bin
  4. In the following modal, click Restore.

Alternatively, a single file or multiple files can be selected by clicking the checkbox on the left of every desired item row and selecting Restore from the table header.

When a file is restored from the Recycle Bin, the file, its version history and file permissions are moved back to the original location on the staging server. The file must be re-published to return the file to the production server. If a file of the same name and with the same directory path as a recycled file has been created, it should be renamed or moved before restoring.

Deleting Files

Singular or multiple files can be permanently deleted from the Recycle Bin. To permanently delete a file:

  1. From the Content menu, select Recycle Bin.
  2. The Recycle Bin screen is displayed. Filter or sort through the list view as necessary for the desired file.
  3. Hover over the file row and in the Options column click Delete.

    Delete a File from the Recycle Bin
  4. In the following modal, type "delete" and then click Delete.

Alternatively, a single file or multiple files can be deleted by clicking the checkbox on the left of every desired item row and selecting Delete from the table header.

The entire Recycle Bin can be emptied using the Delete All button above the list view. Clicking Delete All will bring up the same delete confirmation modal. Type "delete" and click Delete in this modal to permanently delete all files in the Recycle Bin.

Configuring a Recycle Bin

By default, the Recycle Bin feature is enabled for a new implementation. its default location is /.trash, as described below. If an administrator would like to change the location of the Recycle Bin, they should follow the steps below:

  1. Navigate to Setup > Sites.
  2. Hover over the site in question and click Edit. Alternatively, click the hyperlinked site name. 
  3. Under Site Preferences in the Recycle Bin field, define the name for the Recycle Bin directory. It must begin with a forward slash /. For example: /recyclebin or /.trash. The Recycle Bin must be at the root of the site. Nested directory Recycle Bins are not supported.

    Recycle Bin Path in Site Setup
  4. Click Save.

Note: Once set up, the Recycle Bin is not visible as a directory at the root of the staging server from the Pages list view.

However, administrators with access to the staging server via FTP can use a "dot" file name (e.g., /.trash or /.recyclebin). Prefixing the file name with a period makes the Recycle Bin folder hidden to most FTP clients.