Checked Out/In

Overview

The checked out/in icon, represented by a lightbulb, reflects the state of an OU Campus page or file. When a user edits a page by clicking on an editable region button, or clicks to a  from a list view, the page is automatically checked out to that user. Likewise, when the user publishes a page it is automatically checked back in. 

When a page or file is checked out to a user, no other users can enter the pages and make changes until the file has been checked back in. A level 10 administrator can override this and manually check pages back in that are checked out, and doing so will cancel any unsaved changes to the page.

A user might also decide to check out a page in order to make other page options available. OU Campus also has status indicators help make clear why a page is not available for editing as well as who has checked out a page, scheduled an action, or if the page is in the process of a workflow. These icons are shown on many of the screens that display content lists, most notably the File Navigation sidebar, Pages list view and the My Checked-Out Content gadget.

For example, in the Pages list view (Content > Pages), the page status indicators are found in the Status column. A lit light bulb indicates a page is checked out to the currently logged in user and a red lock indicated the page is checked out to another user. An unlit light bulb indicates the file is checked in and available to be checked out.

Page Status Indicators in File Navigation Sidebar

Checked-Out Files in File Navigation Sidebar

Checked-Out Pages in Gadgets Sidebar

Checked Out Files in My Checked-Out Content Gadget

Status Indicators

Icon Description
Checked In File An unlit light bulb indicates that the page is checked in and can be checked out for editing by any user with the proper permissions.
Checked Out File A lit light bulb indicates that the page is checked out to the current user (the individual currently logged into OU Campus).
Checked Out to Another A red lock indicates that the page is checked out to another user. Users can hover over the lock to see who has checked out the page.
   Scheduled Publish Icon A green calendar icon is the status indicator for a publish scheduled by the current user. Administrators or the individual who scheduled the page to be published can click on the icon to change the publish date and time or cancel the publish completely. 
Scheduled Publish Icon A red calendar icon is the status indicator for a publish scheduled by another user. Administrators or the individual who scheduled the page to be published can click on the icon to change the publish date and time or cancel the publish completely.
   Expire Icon  A red circle with a line through it is the status indicator for an expire scheduled by the current user or another user. A scheduled expire can be removed or rescheduled by the user who scheduled the expire. An administrator can check in the page, which effectively cancels the scheduled expiration. This icon is displayed to all users, not just the user who scheduled the expiration. 

Checking In a Page

It is valuable to note that pages stay checked out to the user until the user:

  • Sends the page to another user for review.
  • Publishes the page.
  • Checks the page back into the system by clicking on the lit (yellow) light bulb.

Behaviors of Checked Out Pages

If a page is checked out by another user, the current user may still perform the following actions; even though the page is locked:

  • Edit access settings
  • Edit reminders
  • Preview the page
  • View the log
  • Copy the file

Available Actions for a Locked Page

Locked Page Options

Best Practices

  • Make sure to check the page back in when finished editing the page so it can be made available to other users.
  • OU Campus supports WebDAV and can be enabled by a Level 10 administrator. When WebDAV is enabled, OU Campus supports file locking with specific WebDAV clients that utilize file locking.